Skip to main content

Curriculum and Teaching Resources: Getting Started

This is the place to start if you need resources related to school curriculum or teaching K-12 classroom subjects.

In the Classoom

  About Keffer Library

Library Hours

Keffer Library Photo 

Charles J. Keffer Library
651-962-4642 (Circulation)
651-962-4664 (Reference)
651-962-4640 (Hours)
MOH 206, 1000 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Directions & Parking

Find Us on Facebook

Introduction

This guide is the place to start if you are looking for research articles or classroom resources for teaching __________{fill in the blank with your subject area} in the classroom.  Use the tabs above to explore these resources.

  • Getting started--where you are now
  • The curriculum collection--information about the collection and services provided for users of the Curriculum Lab at Keffer Library
  • Curriculum standards--information about academic standards in most subjec areas for state or national levels
  • Finding books--search for print or electronic books, located in a library or online
  • Reference sources--encyclopedias and research handbooks, good for a summary of research on a topic
  • Finding articles--start here if you are looking for research articles or documents about teaching methods, classroom management,  or other topics related to teaching.
  • K-12 classroom research--these databases are helpful when  you are doing a research project with K-12 students.
  • Multimedia--nonprint resources related to teaching
  • Websites--this tab has subpages for various teaching areas; these are a sample of suggested curriculum-related websites
  • Citing sources--help for completing the bibliography for your paper/project

Library Information

Most of the library materials related to curriculum and classroom teaching are located at Keffer Library.  This includes the Curriculum and Children's Literature collections, a research collection, professional journals, and more.  You may also find material at O'Shaughnessey-Frey Library, but these will probably be a little older in age.  They may be useful for historical background, but Keffer will have the most current material.

Keffer Library has study guides for the MTLE tests for Teacher Education students.  These are on reserve at the circulation desk.  The library unfortunately does not have a study guide for every subject area.  Some are only available online, and students must register and pay a fee to use these.  There is more information here.

Contact me for assistance

Trent Brager's picture
Trent Brager
Contact:
tjbrager@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4662
Subjects:Education

Other Guides of Interest