This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Islamic Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Facebook linkTwitter linkYouTube linkInstagram link
UST Libraries banner image
Selected resources for studying Islam and the diverse perspectives of Muslims.
Last Updated: May 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.stthomas.edu/islstud Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Use the tabs above to explore resources on Islam and Muslims.

  • Finding Books--search for print or electronic books, located in a library or online
  • Finding Articles--good places to start when searching for journal articles
  • Websites--links to websites that may provide supplementary material
 

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Cover Art
Oxford Islamic Studies Online [electronic resource].
You can search several encyclopedias about Islam online through Oxford Islamic Studies Online.

Note: Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of The University of St. Thomas community (faculty, staff and students). If you are using the Guide off-campus, it will ask for a brief login to identify yourself as a member of The University of St. Thomas community before you can use these resources.

UST's Muslim-Christian Dialogue Center

 

Overviews and Introductions

To find other books similar to these go to the CLICnet Record and scroll down to Subjects on the left.  Click on one of the Subject categories.  Think of them as More Like This buttons.

 

Islam -- Definition

 

Islam - the religious system established through the prophet Muhammad; the Muslim religion; the body of Muslims, the Muslim world.

 

Source: Shorter Oxford English Dictionary

 

Index Islamicus Online

Publisher Notes: "Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims and contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. Index Islamicus is produced by Brill Academic Publishers."

Index Islamicus Online
Only available to UST students, faculty and staff. It is available, also, to walk-in patrons who use any UST library "on site."

 

Search CLICnet- Classic- Find books, e-books and videos

CLICnet is the library catalog of eight private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the UST library of your choice.

 

Search Summon

Summon searches many (but not all) library resources simultaneously, including CLICnet.

For more focused searches, use databases by subject or Ask a Librarian.

Films on Demand - Streaming

Films on Demand

  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Watch streaming video titles in psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. More than 5000 full-length videos are available.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Curt LeMay
Contact Info
Library Director / Theological Librarian
The Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
Mail # IRL
Office - 101 Ireland Library

Library Liaison for Theology
Telephone: 651-962-5451
Fax: 651-962-5460
Send Email
Faculty Liaison:
Faculty members in the Department of Theology and the St. Paul Seminary School of Divinity may contact me to do a Library Skills class in their area. Please give me two weeks notice when scheduling a class session. These same faculty members may suggest library purchases in their area. Please send your purchase suggestions to me.
 

Library of Congress Call Numbers

BP1-610 Islam

1-253 Islam
1-68 General
42-48 Study and Teaching
50-68 History
70-80 Biography
75-77.75 Mohammad
87-89 Islamic Literature
100-137.5 Sacred Books
100-134 Koran
128.15-129.83 Special Parts and Chapters
130-134 Works About the Koran
135-136.9 Hadith Literature, Traditions, Sunna
137-137.5 Koranic and Other Islamic Legends
160-165 General Works on Islam
165.5 Dogma ('Aqa'id)
166-166.94 Theology (Kalam)
167.5 Heresy, Heresies
168 Apostasy from Islam
169 Works Against Islam and the Koran
170 Works in Defense of Islam, Islamic Apolpgetics
170.2 Benevolent Work, Social Work, Welfare Work, etc.
170.3-170.5 Missionary Work of Islam
171-173 Relation of Islam to Other Religions
173.25-173.45 Islamic Sociology
174-190 The Practice of Islam
176-181 The Five Duties of a Moslem
182 Jihad (Holy War)
184-184.9 Religious Ceremonies, Rites, etc.
186-186.97 Special Days and Seasons, Fasts, Feasts, Festivals, etc.
187-187.9 Shrines, Sacred Places, etc.
188-190 Islamic Religious Life
188.2-188.3 Devotional Literature
188.45-189.65 Sufism, Mysticism, Dervishes
189.68-189.7 Monasticism
191-253 Branches, Sects, and Modifications
192-194.9 Shiites
221-223 Black Muslims

 

Find More

Use tabs above to find articles, media, special topics, and websites.

© University of St. Thomas · Minnesota
2115 Summit Avenue · Saint Paul, Minnesota 55105 · USA
651-962-5014 (ph.) · 651-962-5406 (fax) · libweb@stthomas.edu · Library Contacts · Site Index

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip