Skip to Main Content

Moral Theology: General Resources

Moral thought begins in the conscience informed by natural law. The Ten Commandments and Jesus' life are the foundations for Catholic moral action, which has resulted in the Church's strong social teachings.

Online Resources

Quick Ready Reference

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Use for quick look ups. Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions on a wide variety of topics. Brief entries and information about art, biology, business, classics, computing, environmental science, economics, history, language, law, literature, medicine, physical science, political science, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.

Subject Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Bioethics (online version)
ISBN: 0028657748
Encyclopedia of Religion (online version)
ISBN: 0028657330
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society (online version)
ISBN: 1412916526
Abortion in the United States [electronic resource] : a reference handbook (Online)
ISBN: 1598840983

General Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of applied ethics
ISBN: 0122270657
At OSF Library
A 21st century ethical toolbox / Anthony Weston.
ISBN: 0195309677
Wycliffe dictionary of Christian ethics / Carl F. H. Henry, editor.
ISBN: 1565635604
The Westminster dictionary of Christian ethics / edited by James F. Childress and John Macquarrie.
ISBN: 0664209408
Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy by Michael L. Coulter; Stephen M. Krason; Richard S. Myers; Joseph A. Varacalli
ISBN: 0810859068
Publication Date: 2007-07-16
The New dictionary of Catholic social thought / Judith A. Dwyer, editor
ISBN: 0814655262
New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology by David J. Atkinson (Editor); David F. Field (Editor); Arthur F. Holmes (Editor); Oliver O'Donovan (Editor)
ISBN: 0830814086

Catechism

Catechism of the Catholic Church
ISBN: 1574551108
Introduction to the Catechism of the Catholic Church by Pope Benedict XVI
ISBN: 0898704855
Catholic Christianity : a complete Catechism of Catholic beliefs based on the Catechism of the Catholic church / Peter Kreeft.
ISBN: 0898707986

Books at Ireland Library

Taking issue : pluralism and casuistry in bioethics / Baruch A. Brody.
ISBN: 1589010337

A history of Catholic moral theology in the twentieth century : from confessing sins to liberating consciences / James F. Keenan.
ISBN: 0826429297
Introduction to moral theology / Romanus Cessario.
ISBN: 0813210704
Doing right and being good : Catholic and Protestant readings in Christian ethics / introduced with essays and edited by David Oki Ahearn and Peter R. Gathje.
ISBN: 0814651798
The sermon on the mount : inspiring the moral imagination / Dale C. Allison, Jr.
ISBN: 0824517911
Pastoral letters of the United States Catholic Bishops / Hugh J. Nolan, editor.
ISBN: 1555862004
An introduction to Catholic social teaching / Rodger Charles.
ISBN: 0898707897
The living tradition of Catholic moral theology / Charles E. Curran.
ISBN: 0268012962
The Catholic tradition : before and after Vatican II, 1878-1993 / Timothy G. McCarthy.
ISBN: 0829407766
Catholic social thought and the new world order : building on one hundred years / Oliver F. Williams and John W. Houck, editors.
ISBN: 0268007977
The sources of Christian ethics / Servais Pinckaers
ISBN: 0813208173
Health care ethics : a Catholic theological analysis / Benedict M. Ashley, Jean K. deBlois, Kevin D. O'Rourke.
ISBN: 1589011163

Old Standards

The way of the Lord Jesus / by Germain Grisez, with the help of Joseph M. Boyle, Jr.
ISBN: 0819908614
v. 1. Christian moral principles -- v. 2. Living a Christian life-- v. 3. Difficult moral questions.
Moral and pastoral theology / by Henry Davis.
ISBN: 1164511920
Early to mid-20th century classic.
The law of Christ; moral theology for priests and laity. Translated by Edwin G. Kaiser.
Mid-20th century classic.
Moral theology : a complete course based on St. Thomas Aquinas and the best modern authorities / by John A. McHugh and Charles J. Callan.
Handbook of moral theology. Translated from the Latin by Gerald W. Shelton. Edited for American usage by John Gavin Nolan.
Generations of priests knew this as the standard reference on moral theology

Applied Ethics

The Oxford handbook of practical ethics by edited by Hugh LaFollette
ISBN: 0199284237