This guide is a gateway into Environmental topics. It will lead you to databases with helpful journal articles, books, websites, and other resources for course research.
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
Provides useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for scientific disciplines, including biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
The GeoRef database, from the American Geological Institute, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences - it contains over 3.2 million abstracts for geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Articles from scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
ScienceDirect offers access to the publications of Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries - nearly 2,500 journals and 30,000 books. The collection contains selected full text of journal articles (since 1995) and book chapters. The collection focuses on science, technology and medicine, it also contains many journal titles from other social science disciplines.
Easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21, 500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. This makes it a great place to start for interdisciplinary topics.
Scopus vendor guide is here: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.
This link opens in a new window