This is the "Getting Started" page of the "History Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Facebook linkTwitter linkYouTube linkInstagram link
UST Libraries banner image

History Resources   Tags: history  

A guide to library resources in the field of history at UST
Last Updated: Jan 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.stthomas.edu/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Find Primary Sources

Use this research guide to help you find Primary Sources on your topic.

Course & Subject Specific Guides

 

History Resources

This guide introduces you to the History resources available in the University of St. Thomas Libraries.  The background materials listed on this page will help you get started with your research.  Click on the tabs above view other resources which will help you find books, journal articles and other materials.

Finding Background Information

Use these specialized topical sources to browse for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes:

  • Hutchison Chronology of World History
    A chronology of world history through 2011.
  • Blackwell Reference Online - History
    Blackwell Reference Online - History is an online library of background works. The collection is especially rich on topics related to the history of the United States and the United Kingdom.
  • Cambridge Histories Online
    Cambridge Histories Online is a collection of more than 250 full text ebooks. Subjects range widely across the humanities. It includes works in ancient history, American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, history of the book, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, political and social theory, regional history, religious studies, and more.
  • Oxford Reference Online - History
    An online collection of background resources on a wide variety of historical topics.
  • Oxford Handbooks Online - History
    This source features leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
  • African American Studies Center
    The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online
    Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information on Islam. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
  • Blackwell Reference Online - Classics
    Blackwell Reference Online - Classics is an online library of background works focused on the classical Greek and Roman periods.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States
    The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history including statistics. Topics covered include: population, work and welfare, economics, international relations and governance.

Find Biographical Information

Use these sources to find basic biographical information on historical figures:

  • American National Biography Online
    American National Biography provides biographical information relating to significant men and women from all periods of United States history. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
  • Biography In Context
    Biography in Context includes over 600,000 biographies on more than 500,000 people. Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
  • Dictionary of Irish Biography
    The Dictionary of Irish Biography provides biographical information on the lives of deceased Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Ann Kenne
Contact Info
Head of Special Collections / University Archvist
LL09 O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
2115 Summit Avenue #4068
Saint Paul, MN 55105-1086
651-962-5461 (office)
amkenne1@stthomas.edu
Send Email
 

  About OSF

Library Hours

OSF Library Photo

O' Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking

Find Us on Facebook

© University of St. Thomas · Minnesota
2115 Summit Avenue · Saint Paul, Minnesota 55105 · USA
651-962-5014 (ph.) · 651-962-5406 (fax) · libweb@stthomas.edu · Library Contacts · Site Index

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip