This is the "General Citations: Books, Articles, Websites, etc." page of the "Citing Theological Sources: How to do a Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Facebook linkTwitter linkYouTube link
UST Libraries banner image

Citing Theological Sources: How to do a Bibliography   Tags: church documents, citation styles, mla style  

For general citations, this guide leads you to other guides prepared by UST Libraries' Reference Department . However, Bible and Church document examples may refer to the MLA Style Manual, Turabian, or the SBL Handbook of Style.
Last Updated: May 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.stthomas.edu/theology_bibliography Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

General Citations: Books, Articles, Websites, etc. Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citation Styles

Check with instructor on the preferred style he or she wishes you to use and be sure to conslult the most up-to-date edition of that style manual.

Cover Art
MLA handbook for writers of research papers. - 7th edition
ISBN: 1603290249
The MLA Handbook is an academic style guide widely used in the United States, Canada, and other countries, providing guidelines for writing and documentation of research in the HUMANITIES, which includes Theology. (However, be sure to use your instructor's preferred style manual.) Note: It is no longer fashionable to use ibid or op. cit. when using this Handbook.

Cover Art
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers / Kate L. Turabian - 7th edition.
ISBN: 0226823377
From Booklist
First published in 1937, Turabian's manual has been updated to reflect the fifteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style (2003) as well as the habits and needs of today's students. The chapter on source citation now includes sections on online databases, e-books, and "informally published electonic sources." A new and lengthy part 1, "Researching and Writing: From Planning to Production," cautions researchers to "beware of Wikipedia" and "never cite it as an authoritative source." Another caution: citation software "may save time, but it is not a substitute for knowing the underlying principles of the style." Quinn, Mary Ellen

Cover Art
Student's guide to writing college papers / Kate L. Turabian. - 4th edition.
ISBN: 0226816303
This book is a concise distillation of the enormous Chicago Style Manual. Recommended for college and graduate students--particularly those who must use multiple citation styles.

See Main UST Library Citation Guide

  • Main UST Library Citation Guides
    Use these as your main guides for books and articles. Covers several common citation styles, including Chicago, APA, Turabian, and MLA

About Style Manuals

Which should you use?

Ask each of your professors which style they want you to use. If they have no preference you can follow any of these styles (just be consistent). However, most of our Seminary students are asked to use either the MLA or Turabian Style Manuals.

  • APA: psychology, education, and other social sciences.
  • MLA: literature, arts, and humanities.
  • AMA: medicine, health, and biological sciences.
  • Turabian: designed for college students to use with all subjects.
  • Chicago: used with all subjects in the "real world" by books, magazines, newspapers, and other non-scholarly publications.

Print versions of these style manuals contain examples of citing more sources than these web pages do, as well as other things you may need to know, such as margins, font size, etc.

I like the "Long Island University Library Guide" as it is "COLOR CODED."

RefWorks - UST Faculty, Staff, Students and Alumni only

Refworks logo

Use RefWorks to keep track of resources you find in your research, and to create your bibliography when finished.

Learn more about Refworks and get the UST Refworks Group Code (login required).

      

    For those who do not have access to UST's RefWorks subscription: BibMe Bibliography Maker

    BibMe Bibligraphy Maker

     

    VERY simple, BASIC, free online source.

    For those who do not have access to UST's RefWorks subscription: Zotero

    Sophisticated, free, open source, online citation tool. Zotero works with Firefox for Windows, Mac and Linux but not Internet Explorer (IE) or Google Chrome.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Curt LeMay
    Contact Info
    Library Director / Theological Librarian
    The Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
    Mail # IRL
    Office - 101 Ireland Library

    Library Liaison for Theology
    Telephone: 651-962-5451
    Fax: 651-962-5460
    Send Email
    Faculty Liaison:
    Faculty members in the Department of Theology and the St. Paul Seminary School of Divinity may contact me to do a Library Skills class in their area. Please give me two weeks notice when scheduling a class session. These same faculty members may suggest library purchases in their area. Please send your purchase suggestions to me.
     

    UST Center for Writing

    UST Writing CenterWould you like some expert assistance with writing and editing your paper? 

    Check out the resources available from the Writing Center.

     

    Plagiarism

    CLIC Plaigiarism tutorial

    Concerned about Plagiarism? You should be! View this multi-media tutorial for more information.

    © University of St. Thomas · Minnesota
    2115 Summit Avenue · Saint Paul, Minnesota 55105 · USA
    651-962-5014 (ph.) · 651-962-5406 (fax) · libweb@stthomas.edu · Library Contacts · Site Index

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip