Facebook linkTwitter linkYouTube linkInstagram link
UST Libraries banner image
Subject Guides - Browse By Subject
Choose a subject for a list of related guides.

  Search: 
 
Theology & Religion
A-Z Databases
by Carolyn DeLuca - Last Updated Apr 23, 2014
This guide contains a full alphabetical list of UST subscribed databases organized by name.
An Introduction to Theology & Religion Resources
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Introductory guide to theological methods and resources.
Anti-Catholicism
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Anti-Catholicism is a generic term for discrimination, hostility or prejudice directed against Catholicism, and especially against the Catholic Church, its clergy or its adherents. The term also applies to the religious persecution of Catholics.
Art History 330: Churches, Mosques of the 1st Millenium
by Kathryn Burke - Last Updated Jan 3, 2014
A guide to finding resources for Medieval Art and Architecture
ARTH 280 Sacred Space
by Kathryn Burke - Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
A guide to finding information about sacred spaces across time and space.
ARTH 291: Islamic Art and Architecture
by Kathryn Burke - Last Updated Jan 3, 2014
Resources for Islamic Art and Architecture
ARTH 323 Arts of Colonial Latin America
by Kathryn Burke - Last Updated Jan 3, 2014
A guide to resources for the arts of Colonial Latin America
Augustinian Studies
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
The study of St. Augustine of Hippo (354-430 CE) from theological, philosophical, and historical perspectives.
Bible LITE - Introductory Sources
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Only the most useful databases, reference tools and books for introductory level Biblical research.
Biblical Exegesis
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Biblical exegesis is the process by which one comes to understand a Biblical text. One begins by identifying key passages, terms, and concepts and uses specialized library resources during the research process.
Bioethics
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
Study of the ethics, processes, and people which constitute the maintenance of health for human beings. Consists of the theological, philosophical, medical, scientific, and legal aspects of these issues. This guide is primarily from a Catholic viewpoint.
Biography
by Marianne Hageman, Janice Kragness, UST Librarian - Last Updated Feb 6, 2014
Resources for locating biographical information.
Canon Law
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
An introduction to the major resources available for the study of Canon Law.
Catholic Education: A Research Guide
by Donna Nix - Last Updated Feb 3, 2014
This guide includes a sample of resources for someone beginning to do research in the area of Catholic education.
Catholic Social Justice and Catholic Social Teaching
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
An historical, theoretical and practical overview of the principles and themes of the Roman Catholic social encyclical tradition by exploring views on Christian social responsibility through classic texts and contemporary problems.
Church Documents
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
Locating documents of the Roman Catholic Church.
Church History (Patristic Era, Ecumenical Councils, the Papacy, and Saints)
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
The historical development of the Church...Within 400 years after Jesus' passion, Christianity developed from an illegal, persecuted, and underground religion into the sole, official, dominant faith of the Roman Empire.
Citing Theological Sources: How to do a Bibliography
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Sep 18, 2013
For general citations, this guide leads you to other guides prepared by UST Libraries' Reference Department . However, Bible and Church document examples may refer to the MLA Style Manual, Turabian, or the SBL Handbook of Style.
Classical Languages
by Cindy Badilla-Melendez - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
Classics is the study of all aspects of ancient Greece and Rome, and of the impact of these civilizations on later cultures and our own times. The goal of this guide is to direct students and researchers of Classics to reliable sources of information.
Council of Trent - 1545 to 1563
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
The Council of Trent was the council of the Roman Catholic Church that met between 1545 and 1563 at Trent in S Tyrol. Reacting against the Protestants, it reaffirmed traditional Catholic beliefs and formulated the ideals of the Catholic Reformation.
DVTP 800 - Preaching and Teaching with Blessed John Henry Newman
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Introduction to the life, thought, and Catholicism of Blessed John Henry Newman.
Eastern Orthodox Church
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Nov 27, 2013
The body of modern churches, including (among others) the Greek and Russian Orthodox, that is derived from the church of the Byzantine Empire, adheres to the Byzantine rite, and acknowledges the honorary primacy of the patriarch of Constantinople.
Eucharist
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
An overview of contemporary Catholic theology concerning the mystery of the Eucharist. The importance of biblical, patristic and liturgical studies is addressed.
Evaluating Theological Web Sites
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
The Good, the Bad, the Ugly and Wikipedia.
Heresies and Heretics
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
In Catholicism, heresy is a controversial or unorthodox theological challenge that conflicts with scripture, Church Tradition, dogma, or doctrine.
HIST 366 Catholic Church in the United States
by Ann Kenne - Last Updated Jan 9, 2014
A guide to finding information on the history of the Catholic Church in the United States
Historical Jesus
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Examines the life of Jesus of Nazareth and considers how much the historian is able to reconstruct the life of Jesus using the historical method.
History of the Middle Ages
by Ann Kenne - Last Updated Jul 12, 2013
A guide to library resources relating to the history of the Middle Ages.
Homiletics
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Homiletic Preparation Guides, Methods, and Resources.
Islamic Studies
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated May 1, 2013
Selected resources for studying Islam and the diverse perspectives of Muslims.
Judaic Studies
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A general introduction to library resources that support Judaic Studies.
Justice and Peace (Theologies of)
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Feb 21, 2014
Justice Studies investigates the many intersecting forms of injustice which are built into social life and public policies. Catholic Social Justice Teachings are included.
Liturgical Studies
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Oct 9, 2013
The Catholic Church is fundamentally liturgical and sacramental in its public life of worship. The main Catholic worship service is the Mass.
Mariology
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Nov 27, 2013
Roman Catholic Mariology deals with the life and role of the Virgin Mary, the mother of Jesus, as well as her veneration, throughout the ages, in theology, prayer, hymns, art, music, and architecture.
MAT Thesis Writing Guide
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
Moral Theology
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Moral thought begins in the conscience informed by natural law. The Ten Commandments and Jesus' life are the foundations for Catholic moral action, which has resulted in the Church's strong social teachings.
Music of Church/Synagogue/Mosque/Temple
by Cindy Badilla-Melendez - Last Updated Aug 19, 2013
Resources for finding information about music used in worship.
Pastoral Counseling
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Pastoral counseling and practice moves beyond the support or encouragement of a religious community by providing psychologically sound therapy that utilizes a religious and spiritual dimension.
Patristics / Patrology -- The Early Church Fathers & Their Writings
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Apr 4, 2014
Grounded in the teachings and passion of Jesus Christ, early Christian theologians studied Jewish thought, Greek philosophy, and Greek and Latin vocabulary in their endeavor to explain complex Christian theological concepts.
Philosophy
by Kathryn Burke - Last Updated Oct 3, 2013
Guide to library resources in philosophy and related fields.
RefWorks Instructions
by Merrie Davidson, John Heintz, Kari Petryszyn - Last Updated Apr 23, 2014
RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- it's designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
Religious Statistics
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Religion statistics for research.
Sacramental Theology
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Catholic life is geared around the seven sacraments, which confer grace on the believer. This is an overview of the historical development of the Catholic sacraments and their theological significance in the modern world.
Saint Thomas Aquinas
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Dec 2, 2013
Over the centuries, the Catholic Church regularly and consistently reaffirmed the central importance of Thomas's work for understanding its teachings concerning Christian revelation.
Systematic Theology (Revelation, Tradition, and Doctrine)
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated May 1, 2013
Systematic theology undertakes the task of a comprehensive and synthetic understanding of the Christian faith as mediated through the Scriptures and the Catholic Tradition and as interpreted by Church Councils and Papal Magisterium.
THEO 343 - Apocalyptic Literature
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
This course examines some of the apocalyptic literature of the Bible, specifically the books of Daniel and Revelation, as well as non-biblical Jewish and Christian apocalyptic literature of the same periods.
THEO 373 - Person & Mission of Jesus
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
This course explores New Testament understandings of some of the titles of Jesus, such as Christ, Lord, and Savior, and investigates the development of Christological doctrine in the early centuries of Christianity.
THEO 421 - Theologies of Justice and Peace
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Feb 24, 2014
Resources that will help you begin to investigate justice theories, explanations for injustices and inequalities, and solutions for restoring and transforming justice at all levels.
THEO 423 - Christian Marriage
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
Research help emphasizing the sacramentality of human love and the salvific nature of Christian marriage, while addressing the tension between Christian marriage and Western culture.
THEO 440 - Hinduism and Buddhism
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Nov 27, 2013
THEO 455 - Latin American Christianity with an Emphasis on Guatemala
by Dan Gjelten, Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Basic library resources about Catholic and Protestant faiths in Latin America.
THEO 489 - Global Christianity
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated May 1, 2013
An examination of Christian religious change and its impact on societies around the world and focuses on the size and geographic distribution of the world’s Christian population.
THEO452.01: Theology & Beauty
by Talia Nadir - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
A Library Research Guide for Theology 452(1): Theology and Beauty, Dr. Kim Vrudny, Spring 2014
Theological Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Aug 13, 2013
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other electronic resources useful for finding background information in Theology & Religion.
Theology of the Body (Pope John Paul II)
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Theology of the Body is the topic of a series of 129 lectures given by Pope John Paul II during his Wednesday audiences between September 1979 and November 1984. It was the first major teaching of his pontificate.
Theology Tutorials: CLICnet and Databases
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 15, 2013
Learn how to find books and media; and articles in theological databases.
Vatican II (1962-1965)
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
Surveys the history of the Second Vatican Council and the sixteen documents it promulgated. Highlights materials that reveal the vision of Catholic faith presented by the Council from a theological perspective.
Women in the Early Church
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
A guide to library resources about the lives and roles of Christian women in the first centuries.
World Religions
by Curt LeMay - Last Updated Nov 27, 2013
A guide that serves as a brief introduction to several world religions. It is intended to whet your appetite for further study and to help you understand the religious beliefs of others in today's global society.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Curt LeMay
Contact Info
Library Director / Theological Librarian
The Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
Mail # IRL
Office - 101 Ireland Library

Library Liaison for Theology
Telephone: 651-962-5451
Fax: 651-962-5460
Send Email
Faculty Liaison:
Faculty members in the Department of Theology and the St. Paul Seminary School of Divinity may contact me to do a Library Skills class in their area. Please give me two weeks notice when scheduling a class session. These same faculty members may suggest library purchases in their area. Please send your purchase suggestions to me.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Elizabeth Polakowski

© University of St. Thomas · Minnesota
2115 Summit Avenue · Saint Paul, Minnesota 55105 · USA
651-962-5014 (ph.) · 651-962-5406 (fax) · libweb@stthomas.edu · Library Contacts · Site Index

Loading...
Arrow