Skip to main content

Econ 335: Money, Banking, and Financial Markets: Finding Scholarly Economic Journal Articles

A guide to useful sources in money & banking

Use EconLit to find scholarly journal articles in Economics

See the box titled "EconLit Usage Tips" at the bottom of this page for screenshots and text tips on how to search and use the database results.

Find Articles & More with CLICsearch

Search Tips:

  • to focus your search, use the limits on the left side of the result page
  • try the Peer Review limit to focus your results on scholarly articles
  • learn more about CLICsearch

Other Recommended Databases

EconLit Usage Tips

Use the EconLit database to find scholarly content

The EconLit database indexes journal articles, books, working papers, and dissertations in economics. Start with a keyword search on one or more aspects of your topic, review the results for relevant articles, and use the Subject Headings found in the individual items to search for new items. Sample advanced search:

Combine search terms

Search Results: once you've found an item that interests you, click the title to read the abstract and find links to documents, and for journal articles, use the Get It buttons to see if we have an electronic or print copy.  

Get It

You can also narrow by Source, Publication Date, Subject or various other criteria in the left column (click the + sign to open the selection menu), and toggle between displaying results by relevance or by date.

Narrow results by  Narrow results by

Within an Item:

Open up items to read abstracts, which will help decide the relevance of an article. Also, make note of and use the Subject headings (or "Subjects") as useful search terms, either as an alternate search (top section) or to narrow the current one (right side of results page).  

Abstract view

GET IT

Click the GET IT button in any database to get the full text of an article.  If UST Libraries doesn't own it, you'll be given an option to request it from another library

More information

InterLibrary Loan

Request books, articles, and other items not available at UST. Visit the InterLibrary Loan page for more info.


 

Problems logging in?

Off-Campus Access

With very few exceptions, UST Libraries resources are available from off-campus.  You will be asked to enter your UST username/password.  This is the username you use for your UST email, not your Banner ID.