For all things psychological. For empirical articles, use the dropdown methodology search. Choose empirical study, quantitative study, or qualitative study or something more specific. Here's a tutorial on exactly how to do this. Use the dropdown menu to limit to the age groups you're interested in.
Finally, the DSM online! Includes all editions, supplements and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM-IV-TR. Also, find professional articles on the DSM, the future of the DSM, and the decision-making of the DSM. Just type DSM 5 in the search box at the top of the page.
ndexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use Article Type to find Random Trials and Review Articles. The MeSH (Medical Subject Heads) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
PILOTS is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage.
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in PDF form that researchers can download. All St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database are available in PDF also. If you should come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may purchase a copy or request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).
Other Psychology Databases
These databases also include resources covering Psychology topics.
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
Family Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides information about 1.3 million items related to education, including journal articles, books, conference papers, statistical or research reports and other items. It is THE essential tool for research in education.
Education Full Text indexes over 770 education journals, as well as some monographs and yearbooks. Over 400 of the journals are peer-reviewed and almost half are available in full text. It also includes several peer-reviewed open access journals. The indexing starts in 1983, and the full text starts in 1996. Approximately 75-100 of the titles are not indexed in ERIC and it is a complementary resource to use with ERIC.
Search Journal Titles
Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).