Skip to main content

EDLD904 - Qualitative Research Methods: Finding Related Articles

How to find articles using qualitative research methods. How to find help in conducting qualitative research.

  I've found some articles...

One of the neatest databases available is Social Sciences Citation Index. If you have hung out in academia long enough, you might remember it, each year, published as 3 or 4 hefty volumes. (Only for the Social Sciences edition. Every year there was also a Science edition and an Arts & Humanities edition, each having its own 3 or 4 volumes.)

What was it like?

  • Each volume, a weighty tome.
  • Thin transulescent pages 
  • The most minute printing possible.
  • A treasure trove.
  • And the only way to find out what had been published AFTER.
    • After the perfect article exactly on the topic you were interested in, but published 15 years ago.
    • Surely someone had published since?
    • How could you look into the future from that article to today?
  • Perhaps someone had cited that perfect article.

Many databases, allow "Times cited in the database," "Cited by" or similar possibilites.

  • The"cited by" articles have to be in the same database.
  • The Web of Science is multidisciplinary, including articles from over 22,000 journals, compared with just 2,000 journals covered by PsycInfo and 1,800 by Sociological Abstracts.

Web of Science also has a nice online tutorial to guide you through citation reference searching. Besides Overview, make sure you also click on, and read Cited Reference.

  You Can Play for Days =P

However, there are a few problems.

The worst is that the citations are lifted directly from the references in the back of articles and books, meaning that there are many errors in the database.

Expect to find errors of authors' names, publication dates, page and volume numbers, journal titles, etc. There are some guides to help you with this, but it is a definite problem.

The second problem is that you can really play for days in here, wandering around a winding road, leading off into lands of great interest that can distract you from your major focus. It might help to keep your topic statement somewhere nearby for those days when you absolutely have to get your work done and have no time for those more enticing bits of research play.

Good luck. Have fun. And contact me if you'd like some help or more information!

Citation Searching: Finding articles into the future

Citation Searching: Finding Articles into the Future

Filed under: Citations,Databases,Research Techniques — merriealynn @ 5:59 pm 

Citation Searching: Finding Articles into the Future

You’re probably used to looking at the references in a paper and finding the articles that the author read to help them analyze their data and interpret their results. This is great for finding seminal articles, but they just get older and older. You want to know what’s happening now!

How about finding out who read the article you have in your hand to understand their own data? That would mean you’d be moving into the future!

Most databases now let you click on a link and see who cited it. Here’s what that looks like in Ebsco databases, like Criminal Justice Full Text, Academic Source Premier, ERIC, or SocINDEX. The link to these articles will be in a slightly different place in other databases, like PsycINFO.

Finding Older and Newer Articles based on the article you found

Good luck. Have fun. And contact me if you’d like some help or more information!