Skip to main content

THEO 251 - Global Christianity: Web Sites

An examination of Christian religious change and its impact on societies around the world and focuses on the size and geographic distribution of the world’s Christian population.

Convocate

Convocate is a new database which connects international human rights documents to Catholic Social Teaching.  Hosted by Notre Dame University.

Major World Christianity Sites

    ·         ATLA World Christianity Website

    ·         Library collections on Christianity outside of US and Canada, from World Christianity Interest Group of the American Theological Library Association.

     

    ·        World Council of Churches

    ·         A worldwide fellowship of 349 churches seeking unity, a common witness and Christian service

     

     Ecumenical Association of Third World Theologians (EATWOT)  An ecumenical group formed in 1976 that focuses on publishing writings of liberation written by and for members of Third World nations. They produce the bi-annual journal Voices from the Third World in addition to other writings.

    Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary Center for the Study of Global Christianity  

    Websties - General

    ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative - includes missions-related maps, photographs, postcards, texts, statistics

    Church & ecumenical organizations (WCC)

    Global Mapping International - gateway for evangelical missions information and websites.

    International Conference on Computing and Missions

    International Association for Missions Studies

    Lausanne Committee for World Evangelization

    Maryknoll Missions

    Overseas Council International (OCI)

    Overseas Ministries Study Center

    World Student Christian Federation

    School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London - Archives & Library

    Berliner Gesellschaft fur Missionsgeschichte

    The Russian Church and Native Alaskan Cultures

    International Bulletin of Missionary Research

    International Mission Photography Archive - photographs contributed by nine repositories of mission archives

    Boston University School of Theology History of Missiology site- biographical material about missionaries and classic writings in the history of Protestant mission thought

    Yale Divinity Library Special Collections online resources including missionary papers, mission agency reports

    Edinburgh 2010: Resources - photos, papers, books, and articles related to Edinburgh 1910 and the centenary celebration

    World Missionary Conference, 1910, Edinburgh - Volumes 1 - 9

    Missionary E-Texts Archives - an electronic repository of historical texts by, about and for missionaries

    Project Canterbury - Anglican history; includes digitized texts re. missions and index to Episcopal Church periodical, Spirit of Missions

    Project on Religion and Economic Change - data related to Protestant and Catholic missions

    Evangelists of Empire? Missionaries in Colonial History - online resources from University of MelbourneThe Vinton Books - biographical information about American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions missionaries - see also the Congregational Library's Necrology Search

    Theology with a Global Perspective

    Internet Reference Resources: By Area/Country

    Africa

    The Dictionary of African Christian Biography - an OMSC project

    Asia

    Centre for the Study of Christianity in Asia, Trinity Theological College, Singapore

    Amity Foundation

    U.S. Catholic China Bureau

    China

    Amity News Service - News of the China Christian Council

     Asia - WCC

    Internet Guide to Religion: Asia

    Christian Conference of Asia

    South Asian Council of Churches

    AEA - Asia Evangelical Alliance

    Federation of Asian Bishops' Conferences

    List of Roman Catholic Dioceses in Asia

    OrthodoxWiki

    Southeast Asia Mission: Vietnam, Laos, Thailand

    Central Asia Mission Initiative of The United Methodist Church

    Chinese Christian Texts Database - a research database of primary and secondary sources concerning the cultural contacts between China and Europe in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries (from 1582 to ca. 1840).

    The Chinese Repository and The Chinese Recorder - digitized periodicals

    China Inland Mission publications available via archive.org

    London Missionary Society Collection of Chinese books - digitized by National Library of Australia

    Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christianity - life stories of significant figures in Chinese Christianity

    American China Missions: An Introductory Bibliography - ed. by Charles W. Hayford

    American Context of the China's Christian Colleges and Schools project

    The Flower Mountain murders: a "Missionary Case" data-base by Ian Welch, Australian National University

    Documentation related to Christianity from the Chinese government Local Gazetteers / description of project

    Korea

    Online Archive Korean Christianity

    Taiwan

    Christianity in Taiwan - site of John Lai

    India / South Asia

    Journeys and Encounters: Religion, Society and the Basel Mission in North Karnataka 1837-1852 - Translations and summaries from published materials in German, by Jennifer and Paul Jenkins

    Southeast Asia Mission: Vietnam, Laos, Thailand

    South Asian Council of Churches

    Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific

    Letters and Journals Relating to the Church Missionary Society Mission to Wellington Valley New South Wales,1830 - 40: A Critical Electronic Edition

    Restoration Movement in Australia - "This nineteenth-century unity and restitution effort by Barton W. Stone and Thomas and Alexander Campbell spawned several distinct religious groups: the Churches of Christ, the Christian Churches, and the Disciples of Christ."

    Websites by Region Euro-American

          North America

    ·         Boston University School of Theology Center for Global Christianity and Mission

    ·         Nagel Institute for the Study of World Christianity - Calvin College

    ·         Overseas Ministries Study Center

            Europe & the United Kingdom

    ·         Centre for the Study of World Christianity - New College, University of Edinburgh

    ·         Henry Martyn Centre for the study of mission and world Christianity - University of Cambridge

    ·         Methodist Missionary Society History Project

    ·         Oxford Centre for Missions Studies


    Latin America

            Handbook of Latin American Studies Online - searchable bibliography

            Iglesia Católica en Chile

    Church and Ecumenical Organizations

    Church & ecumenical organizations (WCC)

    o    Global Mapping International - gateway for evangelical missions information and websites.

    o     International Conference on Computing and Missions

    o    International Association for Missions Studies

    o    Lausanne Committee for World Evangelization

    o    Maryknoll Missions

    o    Overseas Council International (OCI)

    o    Overseas Ministries Study Center

    o    World Student Christian Federation

    o    School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London - Archives & Library

    o    Global Mapping International - gateway for evangelical missions information and websites

    o    International Mission Photography Archive - photographs contributed by nine repositories of mission archives

    o    Boston University School of Theology History of Missiology site- biographical material about missionaries and classic writings in the history of Protestant mission thought

    o    Yale Divinity Library Special Collections online resources including missionary papers, mission agency reports

    o    Edinburgh 2010: Resources - photos, papers, books, and articles related to Edinburgh 1910 and the centenary celebration

    o    World Missionary Conference, 1910, Edinburgh - Volumes 1 - 9

    o    Missionary E-Texts Archives - an electronic repository of historical texts by, about and for missionaries

    o    Project Canterbury - Anglican history; includes digitized texts re. missions and index to Episcopal Church periodical, Spirit of Missions

    o    Project on Religion and Economic Change - data related to Protestant and Catholic missions

    o    Adherents.com - adherent statistics and religious geography citations

    o    Evangelists of Empire? Missionaries in Colonial History - online resources from University of Melbourne

    o    The Vinton Books - biographical information about American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions missionaries - see also the Congregational Library's Necrology Search

    o    ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative - includes missions-related maps, photographs, postcards, texts, statistics

    o