Research and Course Guides: Researching for Your Quals: Finding Articles

New Journals for Psychology

Which journals would you like the library to subscribe to?

Search Journal Titles

Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).

GET IT

Click on this button when you are in a database and you'll be linked to the full-text article if we have it.

It will also lead you to print sources we have.

If we don't have the article, you can click on the link to InterLibrary Loan and borrow it from another library.

Want more information? Watch this wonderful tutorial on the button and how to GET almost everything there is in libraries around ths world.

Off Campus Access

From off-campus, you will be directed to an intermediary screen and required to login with your UST username and password. This is your UST email username/password, not your Murphy login or your library barcode.

For more information about your UST username and password, if you are a new user, or need to change your password, etc., see the IRT accounts/passwords page.

For more information or it you're having problems logging in:

https://library.stthomas.edu/does-not-exist/offcampus/default.html

Databases for Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. For help in searching for articles appropriate for your quals, look under the tab PsycINFO.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. Includes full text journals for social work -- exceptionally good for family studies and therapy. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
Finally, the DSM online! Includes all editions, supplements and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM-IV-TR. Not only related textbooks -- the Casebook, the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and the Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry -- but also Practice Guidelines and self-assessment tools for study are included. Browse for a disorder in the DSM (like Bipolar Disorder) and you'll get links to related articles the American Psychiatric Association journals, the casebook, and the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis.
In the DSM Library box, click on View Entire DSM Library to get older versions of the DSM.

DSM5 Website
Information and updates on the new Diagnostic Statistical Manual -- the DSMV. Check here for publications from various committees, the new proposals, and to apply for field testing.
PubMed
Indexes articles on medicine published all over the world. Use for
psychiatric illnesses
psychopharmacology
health care management
health care administration
mental health policy
Utilize MeSH (Medical Subject Heads) searching for specific content. After finding a relevant article, click on 'Related Records' to find other articles of interest.

PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
PILOTS' goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

Especially useful for studies on survivors of war and torture.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
THE database for Education resources.
Excellent resource for articles on all aspects of child development: social, emotional, and cognitive, especially in relation to school.
Also good for children's adjustment to disability: learning, mental and physical.
Good info about diversity and development or mental health.

Search Summon

Summon searches many of our databases and content sources simultaneously. Try it out!

For a more focused or precision search, see our databases by subject, or Ask a Librarian.

Subject Guide

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology