Skip to main content

THEO 373 - Person & Mission of Jesus: Websites II

This course explores New Testament understandings of some of the titles of Jesus, such as Christ, Lord, and Savior, and investigates the development of Christological doctrine in the early centuries of Christianity.

St. Isadore of Seville

St. Isidore of Seville (c560-636 CE) is the Patron Saint of the Internet.

Ecumenical Sites

Historical Jesus theories across the spectrum from Marcus Borg to N.T. Wright

Please note that the diverse sources on this web site reflect a wide variety of opinions. Check with your professors to be sure the sources you choose are right for your research papers.   

  • Theories of the Historical Jesus -From the "Early Christian Writings" web page. Explains and explores some of the theories offered up by contemporary scholars on the historical Jesus and the origins of the Christian religion. Issues include the nature of the historical Jesus, the nature of the early Christian documents, and the origins of the Christian faith in a risen Jesus Christ. Includes historical Jesus theories across the spectrum from Marcus Borg to N.T. Wright

 

Catholic Resources on the web

  • The Holy See The official Vatican website, including numerous papal documents and a new search engine.

  • Catechism of the Catholic Church Full text of the 1997 American edition, plus search engine.

  • Code of Canon Law (The Laws of the Roman Catholic Church) The full text of the 1983 edition via IntraText.

  • The Catholic Encyclopedia An online transcription of the original print edition, which was published between 1907 and 1912. As the 1908 preface says, "The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine."

  • New Advent Includes articles from Catholic encyclopedia, full text in English translation of Aquinas' Summa Theologica, English translations of selected documents of the early church and of the Catholic Church; and numerous Catholic links.

  • ZENIT The homepage of the Rome-based international news agency. The agency's mission is to provide objective and professional coverage of events, documents and issues emanating from or concerning the Catholic Church for a worldwide audience, especially the media.

  • Catholic.net The successor to the Catholic Information Center on the Internet (CICI), this site provides access to leading Catholic magazines and newspapers, papal and Church documents, and devotional services, as well as weekly highlights from Catholic publications and web sites.

  • United States Conference of Catholic Bishops The United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB) is an assembly of the hierarchy of the United States and the U.S. Virgin Islands who jointly exercise certain pastoral functions on behalf of the Christian faithful of the United States. The purpose of the Conference is to promote the greater good which the Church offers humankind, especially through forms and programs of the apostolate fittingly adapted to the circumstances of time and place. This purpose is drawn from the universal law of the Church and applies to the episcopal conferences which are established all over the world for the same purpose  

  • Roman Theological Forum "The Roman Theological Forum is an association of scholars working with other interested persons for the advancement of theology and philosophy within the tradition of the Roman Catholic Church. It addresses contemporary questions of theology and philosophy, beginning from a Thomist point of view, and it is promoting with special attention a neo-Patristic approach to the interpretation of Sacred Scripture.


Vatican City

Subject Guide

Curt LeMay's picture
Curt LeMay
Contact:
Library Director / Theological Librarian
The Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
Mail # IRL
Office - 101 Ireland Library
Library Liaison for Theology
Telephone: 651-962-5451
Fax: 651-962-5460
Website / Blog Page