Skip to main content

Econ 332: Industrial Organization: Articles and Books

Resources for research in the economics of industrial organization, created specifically for students in Econ 332.

Use EconLit to find scholarly journal articles in Economics

See the box titled "EconLit Usage Tips" at the bottom of this page for screenshots and text tips on how to search and use the database results.

Other Recommended Databases

EconLit Usage Tips

Use the EconLit database to find scholarly content

The EconLit database indexes journal articles, books, working papers, and dissertations in economics. Start with a keyword search on one or more aspects of your topic, review the results for relevant articles, and use the Subject Headings found in the individual items to search for new items. Sample advanced search:

Combine search terms

Search Results: once you've found an item that interests you, click the title to read the abstract and find links to documents, and for journal articles, use the Get It buttons to see if we have an electronic or print copy.  

Get It

You can also narrow by Source, Publication Date, Subject or various other criteria in the left column (click the + sign to open the selection menu), and toggle between displaying results by relevance or by date.

Narrow results by  Narrow results by

Within an Item:

Open up items to read abstracts, which will help decide the relevance of an article. Also, make note of and use the Subject headings (or "Subjects") as useful search terms, either as an alternate search (top section) or to narrow the current one (right side of results page).  

Abstract view

CLICsearch Catalog

CLICsearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice.

Finding Books in Economics

Search:  Use CLICsearch to perform a basic keyword search.  Once you find a relevant book or two, look within those records for promising subject headings: click on one of them to perform a new search on that term to find more. Be sure to browse the shelves in the area where you find a promising book.

Browse the Shelves by Library of Congress Classifications: the following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing at the O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library for books on economics. The 'H' call numbers in Economics are on the second floor.  Anything labeled as Reference will be in that collection on the ground floor.

  • HB --- Economic Theory
  • HC --- Economic History & Conditions
  • HD --- Industries, Land Use, Labor
  • HF --- Commerce
  • HG --- Finance
  • HJ  --- Public Finance

Worldcat

Search for an item in libraries nation-wide:
WorldCat.org >>

Use WorldCat to search for books nation-wide, and use the ILLIAD interlibrary loan system to get them sent here.

GET IT

Click the GET IT button in any database to get the full text of an article.  If UST Libraries doesn't own it, you'll be given an option to request it from another library

More information

InterLibrary Loan

Request books, articles, and other items not available at UST. Visit the InterLibrary Loan page for more info.


 

Problems logging in?