Skip to main content

THEO 343 - Apocalyptic Literature : Getting Started

This course examines some of the apocalyptic literature of the Bible, specifically the books of Daniel and Revelation, as well as non-biblical Jewish and Christian apocalyptic literature of the same periods.

Our library consortium is transitioning to a new Library System and search engine called CLICsearch.

 

Updating hyperlinks in progress:

 

     

  • If a link to a catalog record for a book or media item does not currently connect in this guide -- search for it again using CLICsearch on the library's website at http://www.stthomas.edu/libraries/.  Search for an item by its title, author, or keywords.  Now you will find up to date call numbers, locations, as well as find which CLIC libraries own your item.

Introduction

This guide provides a number of useful resources. Use the tabs above to explore these resources.

  • Finding Books--search for print or electronic books, located in a library or online
  • Finding Articles--good places to start when searching for journal articles
  • Websites--links to websites that may provide supplementary material

Note: Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of  The University of St. Thomas community (faculty, staff and students). If you are using the Guide off-campus, it will ask for a brief login to identify yourself as a member of The University of St. Thomas community before you can use these resources.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

Oxford Biblical Studies Online

The most respected and authoritative biblical reference titles now online

Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides unrivalled access to six essential Oxford editions of the Bible alongside commentary and annotations from study Bibles seamlessly combined with reference material and primary texts.

2010 Booklist Editors' Choice
2010 Library Journal Best Reference

  • Core content includes: the Oxford Study Bible, New Oxford Annotated Bible 3/e, Jewish Study Bible, Catholic Study Bible 2/e, Access Study Bible with Apocrypha, and the Authorized King James Bible with Apocrypha

  • Reference, texts and commentaries include Barton: Oxford Bible Commentary, Metzger & Coogan: Oxford Companion to the Bible, Rogerson & Lieu: Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies, Coogan: Oxford History of the Biblical World, Browning: Oxford Dictionary of the Bible, Meyers: Oxford Encyclopedia of Archeology in the Near East, Schiffman & VanderKam: Encyclopedia of Dead Sea Scrolls , Sparks: The Apocryphal Old Testament, Elliott: The Apocryphal New Testament and McKenzie: How to Read the Bible

  • Maps and illustrations

  • Interactive timelines and bibliography

Excellent functionality and extensive links...

  • Search and browse options allow users to quick search all content simultaneously or to focus on a single type of reference content such as subject articles; chapters; biographies; images; maps; charts; or Bible study

  • Navigate back and forth between standard reference material and Bible text. Highlight any term within biblical verse and automatically run a quick search

  • Easily and quickly compare commentaries and texts of multiple bible versions

  • Extensive cross-searching provides users with access to related content in book, chapters, verse, primary texts, A-Z articles, and biblical text

  • Entries from Kohlenberger's Concise Concordance to the NRSV and New American Bible Concise Concordance can be viewed with the text of corresponding bibles for study and comparison

  • An expanding range of carefully selected links to external websites facilitate further research

Click on blue hyperlink below to search OBSO  - also you can find a number of tutorials on YouTube....

Subject Guide

Curt LeMay's picture
Curt LeMay
Contact:
Library Director / Theological Librarian
The Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
Mail # IRL
Office - 101 Ireland Library
Library Liaison for Theology
Telephone: 651-962-5451
Fax: 651-962-5460
Website / Blog Page

Off Campus Access

ACCESSING ONLINE RESOURCES from OFF-CAMPUS

Online databases and electronic journals subscribed to by the UST Libraries are licensed for use by the St. Thomas community ONLY.  Because of this restriction, we need to verify that anyone accessing these databases is a current member of the St. Thomas community.

Good websites