Skip to main content

Blackboard: Integrating Library Resources: Link to Videos

How to embed library content into your Blackboard course.

Instructions on linking to videos

Scroll down or use these links to find the instructions for the database that contains your desired videos, copy the resulting URL, and see the box in the right column entitled "Adding links to Blackboard."

Films on Demand: Linking to Videos

Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database that provides streaming videos (online). More than 5000 full-length videos are available and they cover the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. 

Linking to Individual Titles
Users can build durable links to individual titles that can be placed in Blackboard, on web pages, sent via email to other authorized UST users, etc.  But it's not quite as simple as just copying the URL from the browser's address bar.  Here's what to do:

  • search the database and find the film you wish to link to
  • click the title link to open its record: the screen will show a player window and controls, a list of video segments, an abstract/description, etc.

Open film record 

  • scroll down below the player window and description, find the Title URL, and copy it.  You can then paste it as a link into Blackboard, into a syllabus, email, whatever.  Do not try to simply copy the URL from the browser's address bar as you normally would for a web site: that method will not work.

 Find URL

  • once users hit this link, they can view the entire video or individual segments that are listed on the screen.  It will work on or off campus.
  • Note for adding Audio or Video content: the user's computer must have a reasonably current version of Flash, Quicktime, or Windows Media players in order to view the video, and will need speakers in order to hear the audio (you may want to add this information to your description, or mention it in class).
  • For more information on using the video databases, contact the staff of the Media Resources Collection. 

Linking to Alexander Street Press Videos (VAST, Opera, Counseling & Therapy in Video databases)

To link to one of the videos:

  • Go to the database, search or browse to the title you wish to use, and click on it.
  • Find and click Embed/Link or Add to Playlist in the options displayed below the video player. Also check the right side of the screen to see if the video includes separate segments or tracks that you can embed or link to (instead of the entire video).

Embed/link

  • Clicking Embed/Link opens a window allowing you to copy a permanent URL for the video or to copy code allowing you to embed the video on web pages.

permanent URL

  • You can then paste the permanent URL as a link into a Blackboard content area, into a syllabus, email, whatever.  Do not try to simply copy the URL from the browser's address bar as you normally would for a web site: that method will not work.

Ambrose Video

1) Open the database and find the film you wish to link.

2) Scroll down below the player window and find the "Permalink to this video":

 

3) Copy the full URL (it may run out past the left edge of your screen, so be careful to get the full string). Do not try to simply copy the URL from the browser's address bar as you normally would for a web site: that method will not work.

4) Paste the URL into the Proxy Me widget below (this adds UST-identifying information to the URL so that it will work for UST users who are off-campus).

Proxy Me

5) Next, copy and paste the resulting link into Blackboard (see box to the right for more on this), into a syllabus, email, whatever. 

Adding Links to Blackboard

Once you have the durable URL described in the previous steps, it's a snap to place it in Blackboard:

  • copy the URL as described above
  • open Blackboard in Edit Mode, and either create a new or use an existing content area (menu item).
  • within the content area, go to the "Build Content" menu and select "Web Link."

  • this will open a form.  Paste the URL in the appropriate field, add a name (title) and description (perhaps instructions on which video segments to watch, details on the assignment, etc.). We suggest also scrolling down to Options and selecting the radio button to "Open in New Window."  Then select an other desired options, and hit the Submit button.

 Add URL

  • That's it, you're done!
  • If you like, instead of using the URL content area, you can instead paste the link into an "Item" content area, your syllabus, etc.
  • For more information on placing and editing content in Blackboard, contact your Academic Technology Consultant.