Research and Course Guides: Art History 335: Cathedral, Monastery, and Caliphate: Getting Started

Art Image of the Week

Spiral minaret or malwiyah of the great mosque of Samarri, Iran, built in 847

Background Information--In Print

Trade, Travel and Exploration in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref HF 1001 .T7 2000
ISBN: 0815320035
Medieval Jewish Civilization: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref DS 124 .M386 2003
ISBN: 0415937124
Women in the Middle Ages
Call Number: Ref HQ 1143 .W643 2004 2v.
ISBN: 0313330166
Biographies, events, trends
Medieval Italy: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref DG 443 .M43 2004 v.1-2
Beautifully produced and helpful

Introduction

Welcome to the Art History resource guide! Use this guide to find books, articles, images, and other resources about art and architecture during the first millenium.

The University of St. Thomas Libraries have a wealth of information in print and online about artists and their art. Please contact me if you have need help with your research or to add suggestions to this guide.

Background Information--Electronic

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Companion to Medieval Art
Romanesque and Gothic art in northern Europe.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.
Encyclopedia Judaica
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.
Encyclopedia of Monasticism
Worldwide monastic traditions of Christianity and Buddhism, including eastern and western Christian monasteries. Also informationon female monastics.
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Covers 1,100 years of Byzantine history, from medicine to architecture.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

Subject Guide

Kathryn Burke

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion

About OSF

Library Hours

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking

Art History 335: Cathedral, Monastery, and Caliphate: Getting Started