This resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information.
It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and includes links to
original source data to help locate related data. Earlier editions are also available.
This Census Bureau site contains the archived back issues of the Statistical Abstracts of the United States.
Trends & Forecasts
These resources can provide brief statistical snapshots of an industry. Also check the Finding Articles section to search for articles on industry trends, and the Industry Overviews section to search for a narrative analysis of an industry.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for 700+ U.S. industries and hundreds of international industries. Searchable by keyword, company name, and NAICS codes. Reports average 25-30 pages and contain key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key factors, and industry outlook. UST’s subscription also includes access to the U.S. Specialized Industry Reports; Canada Industry Reports; China Industry Reports; and the Global Industry Research Reports. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
eMarketer provides updated, “grab-and-go” market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media, and emerging technologies. It includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics. It is useful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet, and for keeping abreast of new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing.
(Formerly known as Euromonitor Passport) Passport GMID provides market research on countries, markets and companies. It includes country demographics and economic conditions; consumer lifestyle profiles; sales volume, value and forecasts for 350 retail products; information on major brands and companies. Data can be downloaded into Excel spreadsheets. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2,000 business publications, including the full text from more than 1,000 peer reviewed business journals. It is a comprehensive business database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. This database also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Features company fundamentals, SWOT analysis, company financials, company histories, plus industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and more
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for several hundred U.S. industries. Searchable by keyword, company name, and NAICS or SIC codes. Market share information is included for major players in an industry. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff.
MRI University Reporter (formerly MRI+ Mediamark) contains demographic and lifestyle data along with media preferences for consumers of products and brands. Its detailed consumer product usage and media information is collected from a national sample of 25,000+ U.S. households. Does NOT work using Chrome or Safari. You must create an account using your UST email address. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
NOTE: Only UST faculty, students, and staff can use. Walk-in users are not permitted. No ILL. To access MRI University Reporter, you must use a registration code, which you can obtain by clicking on the database link. Once you activate the database, create your own free account using your stthomas.edu e-mail address. Each user has to agree to a license that governs their own use, on top of the institutional license.