Overviews

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks features review essays, written by leading experts, that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. UST currently subscribes to 7 subject collections.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for scientific disciplines, including biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Psychological Science on Pregnancy: Stress Processes, Biopsychosocial Models, and Emerging Research Issues

Annual Review of Psychology

Christine Dunkel Schetter

Department of Psychology, University of California, Los Angeles, California 90095; email: dunkel@psych.ucla.edu

Tips for Searching in Encyclopedias and Handbooks:

Choose specific encyclopedias from various areas that are related to your topic:
1. Your topic: Use of social media by adolescents who attempt suicide
2. Your encyclopedias: Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology, Encyclopedia of Adolescents, Encyclopedia of Social Work
Search for broader topics, but be aware of which encyclopedia you're in. If you're in the Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology, you don't need to include terms for "social media."
1. Your encyclopedia: The Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology.
2. Your terms: suicide OR adolescents
3. Article found: Adolescent and Emerging Adult Perception and Participation in Problematic and Risky Online Behavior
Check the references!
1. Cavazos-Rehg, P. A., Krauss, M. J., Sowles, S. J., Connolly, S., Rosas, C., Bharadwaj, M., & … Bierut, L. J. (2017). An analysis of depression, self-harm, and suicidal ideation content on Tumblr. Crisis: The Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention 38(1), 44–52.