Research and Course Guides: ARHS 520:French Modern Art 1848-1900: Getting Started

Art Image of the Week

"Pilgrims in Constantinople" 1410-1412,

In Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

Atelier de Maître de la Mazarine

About OSF

Library Hours

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking

google

Introduction

Welcome to the Art History resource guide! Use this guide to find books, articles, images, and other resources about French Modern Art

The University of St. Thomas Libraries have a wealth of information in print and online about artists and their art. Please contact me if you have need help with your research or to add suggestions to this guide. See articles, "French Art" and "French Artists" in Oxford Art Online, for general information.

Background Information--Electronic

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Oxford Bibliographies - Art History
Oxford Bibliographies Art History is a guide to scholarly literature in the field, covers major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources. Articles are written by established scholars.
Revue du Louvre
1991-2003, continued by Revue des musees.
A Companion to Museum Studies
The Louvre a golden prison--(videorecording)
UST Media-Videos N2030 .L68 1989

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.