Research and Course Guides: Business Valuation and Appraisal: Getting Started

Welcome!

The Business Valuation Collection is housed at the Charles J. Keffer Library in downtown Minneapolis.

About Keffer Library

Charles J. Keffer Library
651-962-4642 (Circulation)
651-962-4664 (Reference)
651-962-4640 (Hours)
MOH 206, 1000 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Directions & Parking
Library Hours

Research Consultations

Professional reference service is available via phone, e-mail, and in-person at both the St. Paul and Keffer libraries. While walk-in service is often available, we recommend that you make an appointment for lengthy consultations or tutorials. Contact any business librarian for an appointment.

Off-Campus Access

With very few exceptions, UST Libraries resources are available from off-campus. You will be asked to enter your UST username/password. This is the username you use for your UST email, not your Banner ID.

Reference Materials

Not sure where to start? These reference materials provide a good basis for the start of any research project. Get general background information about theories and approaches here, then move towards the databases for detailed information and data.

Handbook of Business Valuation by edited by Thomas L. West and Jeffrey D. Jones
Call Number: REF HG 4028.V3 B77 1999
Examines approaches and methods to subjects such as business and real estate appraisals, valuation methods, special purpose methods, financial statements, appraisal reports, use and abuse of expert witnesses and more. Also includes worksheets for recording asset values, calculate cash flow and compute value and up-to-date information.
The Handbook of Advanced Business Valuation by Robert F. Reilly
Publication Date: 1999-08-25
This text explores business valuation. It contains studies on marketability, blockage, and other valuation discount studies, as well as chapters on specialized valuation issues for a range of industries, including healthcare, financial institutions, insurance companies and government contractors.
Valuing a business : the analysis and appraisal of closely held companies by Shannon P. Pratt, Alina V. Nivulita
Call Number: HG4028.V3 P7 2008
This classic offers a complete “one-stop” compendium of information on the full range of valuation concepts and methods, including legal, financial, and compliance material.
Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation (SBBI) Yearbook by Duff & Phelps
Call Number: REF HG 4915.S75
SBBI Yearbook provides historical performance data of U.S. asset classes. Other Duff & Phelps data resources provide valuation data. The Keffer library has volumes dating back to 1995.
Duff & Phelps Valuation Handbook: Industry Cost of Capital by Roger J. Grabowski; Duff and Phelps Staff; James P. Harrington; Carla Nunes
Publication Date: 2016-06-27
The most recent cost of capital data for approximately 180 U.S. industries, identified by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code. The 2016 Valuation Handbook Industry Cost of Capital provides valuation professionals with the same type of rigorous industry-level analysis previously published in the green-cover Morningstar/Ibbotson Cost of Capital Yearbook (now discontinued).
Duff & Phelps Valuation Handbook: U.S. Guide to Cost of Capital by Roger J. Grabowski; James P. Harrington; Carla Nunes; Duff and Phelps Staff
Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Valuation Handbook - U.S. Guide to Cost of Capital provides the key annual valuation data previously published in (i) the now discontinued Morningstar/Ibbotson SBBI Valuation Yearbook (discontinued in 2013), and (ii) the Duff & Phelps Risk Premium Report Study (no longer published as a stand-alone publication). Provides data and methodology that can be used to develop cost of equity capital estimates using (i) the build-up method and (ii) the capital asset pricing model (CAPM). Also provides the key inputs needed for developing the cost of equity capital (i.e., "discount rate") for use in estimating the value of a subject business, business ownership interest, security, or intangible asset. Inputs provided include: equity risk premia, size premia, risk premia over the risk free rate, full-information industry betas, industry risk premia, and the risk-free rate.

Business Reference Librarian

Jim Kelly

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 115

651-962-5012

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Analytics, Computer & Information Sciences, Data & Statistics, Economics, Engineering, Finance, Operations & Supply Chain Mgmt

eStatement Studies

In eStatement Studies you'll find Financial Ratio Benchmark (FRB) figures, broken down by US Region and revenue quartile, for a very large number of industries.

Look here for smaller and specialized industries, like Adhesive Manufacturing or Automobile Driving Schools.

RMA Statement Studies Explained
Use this link to find explanations for the ratios and features within RMA Statement Studies (see pages x-xviii for an explanation of the ratio quartiles used and the ratio calculations).

RMA Statement Studies This link opens in a new window
Choose an industry from the list or search for an industry by keyword. Ratios for individual companies are NOT included in this resource. The FRB, or Financial Ratio Benchmark, numbers are most useful.