Research and Course Guides: Islamic Studies: Finding Articles

Spelling Variations

In searching databases you need to be aware of variations in the spelling of words, especially those transliterated from other writing systems. Here are a few examples:

koran or quran
vishnu or visnu
moslem or muslim

Jan Phillips Bibliography of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam - and their Encounters

Jan Phillips Bibliography of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam - and their Encounters
Jan Phillips Bibliography of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam - and their Encounters

The Jay Phillips Center for Interfaith Learning is pleased to host this bibliography, a freely accessible tool for research in interfaith learning for students and scholars, created by Dr. Jan Phillips who, along with the Jay Phillips Center, seeks to further interreligious understanding by facilitating probative examination of sources across the scholarly disciplines.

Historic Materials

Annales islamologiques
Online access to articles published in Annales Islamologiques by the Institut Français d'Archéologie Orientale in pdf format from 1954 to the present.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.

Articles in Basic Index - Good Place to Start

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier is the world's largest academic, multi-disciplinary database. It provides full text for over 8,400 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.

JSTOR

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to BACK FILES of digitized versions of complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences. The Arts & Sciences collections represent the building blocks of an interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive

JSTOR provides full text coverage for 28 journals in Middle Eastern Studies, including TBritish Journal of Middle Eastern Studies, International Journal of Middle East Studies, Iranian Studies, Islamic Law and Society, ournal of Arabic Literature, Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient, Middle East Report, Middle Eastern Studies, Muqarnas and Oriens and others from the very first issue until 3 to 5 years ago. Coverage is increased annually.

You can limit your search by discipline underAdvanced Search

LibrarySearch

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature (journals) across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It includes most peer-reviewed online journals. Use FIND IT@UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.