Skip to main content

Islamic Studies: Getting Started

Selected resources for studying Islam and the diverse perspectives of Muslims.

Introduction

Use the tabs above to explore resources on Islam and Muslims.

  • Finding Books--search for print or electronic books, located in a library or online
  • Finding Articles--good places to start when searching for journal articles
  • Websites--links to websites that may provide supplementary material

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

UST's Muslim-Christian Dialogue Center

The Muslim Christian Dialogue Center is an initiative of the Theology Department within the College of Arts and Sciences in support of the University mission to educate students “to be morally responsible leaders” for the common good. MCDC specifically advances the University’s strategic priorities of “Embracing our differences as one human family” and of “Catholic-inspired community engagement."

Search Summon for books, articles and more

Summon searches many (but not all) library resources simultaneously, including the CLICnet catalog.

Introduction to Summon Video

Learn to use Summon, UST Libraries' single search discovery that allows you to find thousands of resources using a single search box. This brief video covers the basics of Summon.

Islam -- Definition

 

Islam - the religious system established through the prophet Muhammad; the Muslim religion; the body of Muslims, the Muslim world.

 

Source: Shorter Oxford English Dictionary

Index Islamicus Online

Publisher Notes: "Index Islamicus is an international bibliography of publications in European languages covering all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literature. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims and contains indexing for 3,470 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. Index Islamicus is produced by Brill Academic Publishers."

Off Campus Access

ACCESSING ONLINE RESOURCES from OFF-CAMPUS

Online databases and electronic journals subscribed to by the UST Libraries are licensed for use by the St. Thomas community ONLY.  Because of this restriction, we need to verify that anyone accessing these databases is a current member of the St. Thomas community.

Films on Demand - Streaming

Films on Demand

Subject Guide

Curt LeMay
Contact:
Library Director / Theological Librarian
The Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library
Mail # IRL
Office - 101 Ireland Library
Library Liaison for Theology
Telephone: 651-962-5451
Fax: 651-962-5460
Website / Blog Page

Encyclopedia of Women in Islamic Cultures

Library of Congress Call Numbers

BP1-610 Islam

1-253 Islam
1-68 General
42-48 Study and Teaching
50-68 History
70-80 Biography
75-77.75 Mohammad
87-89 Islamic Literature
100-137.5 Sacred Books
100-134 Koran
128.15-129.83 Special Parts and Chapters
130-134 Works About the Koran
135-136.9 Hadith Literature, Traditions, Sunna
137-137.5 Koranic and Other Islamic Legends
160-165 General Works on Islam
165.5 Dogma ('Aqa'id)
166-166.94 Theology (Kalam)
167.5 Heresy, Heresies
168 Apostasy from Islam
169 Works Against Islam and the Koran
170 Works in Defense of Islam, Islamic Apolpgetics
170.2 Benevolent Work, Social Work, Welfare Work, etc.
170.3-170.5 Missionary Work of Islam
171-173 Relation of Islam to Other Religions
173.25-173.45 Islamic Sociology
174-190 The Practice of Islam
176-181 The Five Duties of a Moslem
182 Jihad (Holy War)
184-184.9 Religious Ceremonies, Rites, etc.
186-186.97 Special Days and Seasons, Fasts, Feasts, Festivals, etc.
187-187.9 Shrines, Sacred Places, etc.
188-190 Islamic Religious Life
188.2-188.3 Devotional Literature
188.45-189.65 Sufism, Mysticism, Dervishes
189.68-189.7 Monasticism
191-253 Branches, Sects, and Modifications
192-194.9 Shiites
221-223 Black Muslims

Find More

Use tabs above to find articles, media, special topics, and websites.