Research and Course Guides: Patristics / Patrology -- The Early Church Fathers & Their Writings: Scripture References

Patristic Commentaries

Catena aurea : commentary on the four Gospels collected out of the works of the Fathers / by Thomas Aquinas ; with a new introduction by Aidan Nichols.
ISBN: 1901157407
History of biblical interpretation / by Henning Graf Reventlow.
ISBN: 9781589832022
Ancient Christian commentary on Scripture. NEW TESTAMENT by Series
ISBN: 9780830814923
Ancient Christian commentary on Scripture. OLD TESTAMENT by Series
ISBN: 9780830814756
Ancient Christian Texts (Series)
ISBN: 0830829032
Scripture commentary.
Church's Bible Series
ISBN: 0802825818
There are only three volumes in this series so far (Isaiah, Song of Songs, and 1 Corinthians), but be aware of this rich resource. The series is intended “to present the Holy Scriptures as understood and interpreted during the first millennium of Christian history” (Wilken, Series Preface).
Dictionary of biblical interpretation / John H. Hayes, general editor.
ISBN: 0687055318
Useful for Fathers and interpretive schools for background research. See also Bible books by title.
Handbook of Patristic Exegesis. 2 vols.
ISBN: 9004098151
This two volume set begins with an introduction to the sources of patristic literature including collections of primary texts. Information on the key reference sources and journals are also included. The remainder intersperses articles on the interpretation of scripture in the patristic era, overviews of the biblical books, articles arranged chronologically providing the historical context of the period, and individual entries for the Church Fathers and their writings.
The patristic Gospels : an English version of the Holy Gospels as they existed in the Second Century by Roslyn D'Onston.
The reception of the New Testament in the Apostolic fathers / edited by Andrew Gregory, Christopher M. Tuckett.
ISBN: 0199267820

Patristic Sources - Indexes

Online Sources

e-Catena
Compiled Allusions to the New Testament in the Ante-Nicene Fathers. Cumbersome but useful for Scripture citation in many Early Church writings

Beginnings by Peter C. Bouteneff
ISBN: 0801032334
On creationism - Scripture and Church Fathers

Historic Sermons

St. John Chrysostom

Translated Sermons of the Latin Fathers
Translated Sermons of the Greek Fathers
Sermons of St. Augustine

Fathers & the Bible (Books)

Example searches in LibrarySearch

Chrysostom Bible
Fathers Bible
Early interpretation Bible

BibliIndex

Biblindex

Biblical Exegesis

"In imitation of the method of the bee, I shall make my composition from those things which are conformable with the truth and from our enemies themselves gather the fruit of salvation. But I shall reject all that is worthless and falsely labeled as knowledge."

St. John the Damascene

Old and New Testament Abstracts (For Articles)

Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Advanced tool. Abstracts (short summaries) from over 500 academic journals about field of Old Testament studies; international scope. Also abstracts books on related topics.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Advanced tool. Abstracts (short summaries) from over 500 academic journals about field of New Testament studies; international scope. Also abstracts books on related topics.

Lectio Divina

The Latin phrase "lectio divina" means divine reading. It is a particular practice of prayerful meditative reading that the monastics developed in the early church. Christians today may find it useful for the discipline of deeply reflective reading or scripture and devotional material.

Order of St. Benedict--Lectio Divina
Here are links to sources on the historical background of lectio divina as well as practical helps for getting started in the practice.
Accepting the Embrace of God: The Ancient Art of Lectio Divina
Here is a link to a brief explanation of the process of lectio divina as it is typically practiced in monasteries of the Catholic Church.