Research and Course Guides: Canon Law: Databases & Indexes

Related Subject Specific Databases

These databases cover subjects such as religion and medieval studies, but may be helpful.

International Medieval Bibliography-Online
Indexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Citations classified by date, subject and location.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Series)
The MGH is is a collection of several hundred works in German medieval history dating from 500 to 1500 A.D. Contains selections from the five divisions of the Monumenta Germanie Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates), which covers a wide range of medieval documentation.

The Catholic Dimensions of Legal Study

The Catholic Dimensions of Legal Study

Subject Specific Online Databases and Print Indexes

Use these electronic databases and print indexes to search for journal articles and other resources. Since each database is unique, be sure to look at any documentation provided.

Canon Law Abstracts (Print)
The CLA indexes canon law topics from canon law and non-canon law journals. Coverage begins from 1958 to present. We have the print subscription.
The Catholic periodical and literature index. (Print)
Print version covers 1930-. See hyperlink above for various title changes.
Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses--Elenchus Bibliographicus (Online Journal)
Issue 2-3 (September) of the quarterly ETL is an extensive bibliography of books and articles that appeared the preceding year. The bibliography (ca. 12,000 entries) covers the entire field of Theology and Canon Law. Issues 1 (April) and 4 (December) of each volume contain articles, book reviews and chronicles in English, French or German. Issues 1 & 4 of vol. 61 (1985) to the present are available online.
Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses--Elenchus Bibliographicus (Print)
Various years dating back to 1924.
Religious & Theological Abstracts (Print)
Useful as a supplemental resource for articles dealing with canon law, including abstracts and citations.
Selected Canon Law Sources