Skip to main content

Finding Econ Articles in Popular Magazines & Newspapers: Additional Sources

Use to find economics newspaper and magazine articles (not scholarly journal articles). May be useful for assignments in the introductory micro and macro economics courses.

Palgraves

Palgrave's Dictionary of Economics OnlinePalgrave's Dictionary of Economics Online

Need help choosing research topics?
Dying to calculate the price elasticity of demand? 
Can't remember what heteroscedasticity means?
It's all here...

Finding Books in Economics

Search the CLICnet Catalog: using the box below will perform a basic keyword search.  An advanced search will let you search by keyword, title, author, subject or call number. by a combination of these fields.  Once you find a relevant book or two, look within those records for promising subject headings: click on one of them to perform a new search on that term to find more. Be sure to browse the shelves in the area where you find a promising book.

Browse the Shelves by Library of Congress Classifications: the following Library of Congress classifications may be useful when browsing at the O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library for books on economics. The 'H' call numbers through HF are on the lower level. The HG call numbers and higher in Economics are on the second floor.  Anything labeled as Reference will be in that collection on the ground floor.

  • HB --- Economic Theory
  • HC --- Economic History & Conditions
  • HD --- Industries, Land Use, Labor
  • HF --- Commerce
  • HG --- Finance
  • HJ  --- Public Finance

Search for Books and eBooks

CLICsearch is the library catalog of eight private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the UST library of your choice. My account

Use EconLit to find scholarly journal articles in Economics

See the box titled "EconLit Usage Tips" at the bottom of this page for screenshots and text tips on how to search and use the database results.

Films on Demand - Streaming Video Database

Films on DemandWatch streaming video titles in art, business, engineering, history, languages, literature, psychology, sociology, sciences and more. Thousands of full-length videos available. Advanced Search.

Economics Encyclopedias

Background Information in Economics: Encyclopedias

Use these specialized topical sources to review concepts, in the early stages of research for topic selection, to find additional sources on a topic, etc.
Subject Encyclopedias for Economics