Skip to main content

ASA/ASR Citation Style Guide: Citing Books

This is a guide on how to use the American Sociological Association citation style. It provides examples of basic formats for sources using ASA/ASR Style.

Basic Book Styles

Bibliographies (Works Cited):
Here are examples of basic formats for sources (second and subsequent lines are
indented). Include as much information as you are able to locate from the
resource. In the bibliography, the first author's last name is listed first.  Resources are listed alphabetically by first author's last name  For anonymous works, the citation is inserted into the alphabetical list using the first word(s) of the title:

Format:

Books: Author(s). Date. Title. Place of publication: Publisher.

Examples:

  • Single author:

Doe, John. 1999. Writing styles.  New York: 
          Doe Publishers. 
 

  • Two to more authors (all authors should be listed):

Doe, John, Robert S. Richards, and Thomas J. Smith.
          2001. Writing techniques. New York:  Doe Publishers.

eBooks

Format:

         Author. Date. Title. Place of publication: Publisher. 
                  Retrieved date (url).

Example:

         Fank, Lisa Tendrich. 2007. Women in the American Civil War. 
                  
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. Retrieved April 23, 2012 
                  (http://site.ebrary.com/lib/unistthomas/docDetail.action?docID=10209438).

Dissertations & Theses

Print Dissertation:

Format:

Author. Date. "Title." PhD Dissertation, Department,  Name 
         of University, Location.

Example:

Threinen, Noni. 2009. "Ways of Learning and Leadership: Midlife 
         Women in Communities of Practice." EdD Dissertation,  
         School of Education, University of St. Thomas, St. Paul, MN.

Online Dissertation:

Format:

Author. Date. "Title." PhD Dissertation, Department, Name of University. 
         Retrieved from Database Publication number.

Example:

Threinen, Noni. 2009. "Ways of Learning and Leadership: Midlife Women 
         in Communities of Practice." EdD Dissertation, School of Education, 
         University of St. Thomas.Retrieved from ProQuest Dissertations and 
         Theses Database 3360817.

Book Chapters

Book Chapters:

Format:

Author(s). Date. "Title of Chapter." Pages in Title of  Book, 
         edited by Name. Place of publication: Publisher. 

Example:

 Smith, Thomas J.  2000.  "How to write." Pp. 96-101 in 
           Writing with style and technique edited by Richard
           D. Jones, and Robert S. Richards. New York: Doe
           Publishers. 

Encyclopedias

According to the ASA Style Guide, page 51, major reference resources can be cited  as a note within the text.  However, if you are using an entire article from the resource, you should cite it as you would a book chapter:

Format:

Author(s). Date. "Title of Chapter." Pages in Title of  Book, 
         edited by Name. Place of publication: Publisher.

Example:

   Print Encyclopedia:

   Kent, Stephen A. 2000. "Historical Sociology." Pp. 1195-1202 
            in Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2d ed., edited by Edgar F. 
            Borgatta and Rhonda J.V. Montgomery. New York, NY: 
            Macmillan Reference USA.

   Electronic Encyclopedia:

   Sekulic, Dusko. 2007. "Social Change." Blackwell Encyclopedia of 
            Sociology 
edited by Ritzer, George. Blackwell Reference 
            Online
. Retrieved April 26, 2012 
            <http://www.blackwellreference.com/subscriber/tocnode?
            id=g9781405124331_chunk_g978140512433125_ss1-135>