Research and Course Guides: Developmental and Educational Psychology: Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Handbooks, encyclopedias, and other reference sources are a good place to look for a topic overview, a definition, or a quick fact on a topic. Sometimes the bibliography from an article in an encylopeida or handbook can identify some of the seminal authors on a topic.

The print sources displayed here are located in Keffer or O'Shaughnessey-Frey Library (sometimes both). Click on the title for the call number and availability, or ask for assistance at one of the reference desks. The second group below focuses on e-books.

Handbook of Child Psychology (4 vol.)
Call Number: OSF stacks BF721 .H242 2006
This four-volume handbook is the definitive reference in the field of child development. It serves as a sourcebook, encyclopedia, and research review for scholars at any level.
Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children: Intelligence, Aptitude and Achievement
Call Number: Keffer Ref BF722 .H33 2003
As the title suggests, this is a research handbook with scholarly articles related to the psychological and educational assessment of children. It includes major sections on the assessment of intelligence and learning styles, and of academic skills, and well as several special topics (assessment of creativity, and assessment of culturally diverse children, for example).
Handbook of Preschool Mental Health; Development Disorders, and Treatment
Call Number: OSF RJ499 .H36 2006
This book explores the development of psychiatric disorders in 2- to 6-year-olds, detailing how the growing empirical knowledge base may lead to improved interventions for young children and their families; including, but not limited to: early-onset disruptive disorders, mood and anxiety disorders, eating and sleeping disorders, autism, and other clinical problems.
Handbook of Developmental Disabilities
Call Number: Keffer Ref RJ506.D47 H356 2007
Summarizes current research on topics related to developmental disabilities, including these themes among others: early intervention, school age education, family issues. etc.
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Call Number: Keffer Ref HQ767.84 .E52 2005
Sample topics includes in this 2 volume set include: infant, child, adolescent and adult development, developmental disorders, personality development, emotional and social development, among others.
Psychology of Classroom Learning; An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB1060 .P89 2009
Also an E-book. This 2 volume set examines factors in the classroom that help determine student success including classroom management, multiculturalism, motivation, home schooling, peer pressure, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more.
Learning and the Brain; A Comprehensive Guide for Educators, Parents, and Teachers
Call Number: Keffer LB1060 .P683 2007
This is a good source for brief articles about cognitive neuroscience and its application in education.
Applying Cognitive Science to Education
Call Number: Keffer LB1060 .R423 2008
This book provides an introduction to some of the cognitive issues important for thinking and learning in scientific or other complex domains (such as mathematics, physics, chemistry, engineering, or expository writing).
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB1027.55 b .E523 2005
Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB1050.9 .E63 2008
A broad encyclopedia on education psychology, this includes a number of articles on topics related to special education.
Handbook of Educational Psychology
Call Number: OSF LB1051 .H2354 2006
Scholars have contributed up-to-date reviews and critical syntheses of the following areas: foundations and the future of educational psychology, learners’ development, individual differences, cognition, motivation, content area teaching, socio-cultural perspectives on teaching and learning, teachers and teaching, instructional design, teacher assessment, and modern perspectives on research methodologies, data, and data analysis. New chapters cover topics such as adult development, self-regulation, changes in knowledge and beliefs, and writing.
Handbook of Adult Development and Learning
This books bring together leading scholars from both adult development and learning. It examines six major aspects of the intersection of psychology and learning: foundations, key areas of integration, the self system, higher reaches of development and learning, essential contexts, and specific applications.
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Call Number: OSF Ref HF5548.8 .E498 2007
This 2 volume set presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources.
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology
Call Number: Keffer Ref RJ135 .A26 2011
Concise jargon-free definitions of more than 3,500 disorders, theories, medications, interventions, diagnoses, assessments, etc.

Hierarchy of Needs

E-Reference Books

This group of resources are in electronic form. Click on the title, then look for a link to connect to the resource. If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your UST username and password.

Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2004
This up-to-date overview of the field of infant development covers all the major areas of interest in research, applications and policy. Each of the 26 chapters offers a current review of the theory and research findings. The volume is divided into four sections on perception and cognition; social, emotional and communicative development; risk factors in development; and contexts and policy issues.
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
This is the major reference work that provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology. The scope of this work is to understand the developmental changes, when they occur, why they occur, how they occur, and those factors that influence that development.
Blackwell Handbook of Early Childhood Development
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2006
This book presents a comprehensive summary of research into child development from age two to seven. It covers biological development, cognitive development, language development, and social, emotional and regulatory development
Handbook of Psychology, Educational Psychology (v. 7, Educational Psychology)
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Part of a larger title, this work includes information on both the science and application of psychological principles in education. Established theories and cutting-edge developments are included.
APA Dictionary of Psychology
Publication Date: 2015
APA Educational Psychology Handbook: Vol.1: Theories, Constructs, and Critical Issues
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2012
This three volume set addresses the past, present, and future of educational psychology; emerging design and data analysis approaches; as well as some of the most critical theories driving research and practice today. The target audience is teachers and school administrators.
APA Educational Psychology Handbook, v. 2, Individual Differences and Cultural and Contextual Factors
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2012
APA Educational Psychology Handbook: Vol. 3: Application to Learning and Teaching
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2012
Theories in Educational Psychology
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2013
This book is an excellent source about major educational psychology theories, by major researchers. It also provides practical applications for the classroom.
Oxford Dictionary of Psychology
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2016
With over 11,000 entries, this dictionary covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics. It features comprehensive coverage of such areas as cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods.
Oxford Handbook of Developmental Psychology, v. 1, Body and Mind
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2013
A two volume set, includes major themes of biological development, perceptual and motor development, cognitive development, language development, and social development, among others.See next entry for v. 2 link.
Oxford Handbook of Developmental Psychology, v. 2, Self and Other
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2013
Key Concepts in Developmental Psychology
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2007
This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.
Handbook of School Mental Health
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2013
While the major audience is school psychologists and mental health workers, teachers may find information of interest on bullying, interventions after a traumatic event, parent engagement, and prevention/intervention strategies for a variety of mental health problems in schools.
Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2004
The Handbook spans aspects of cognitive development from infancy to the onset of adolescence and offers an overview of all the major areas of importance in the field. As well as coverage of basic research topics such as categorization, memory, reasoning and language, the volume includes chapters on symbolic reasoning, pretend play, spatial development, abnormal cognitive development and current theoretical perspectives among other topics.
Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2004
This volume provides an overview of research in childhood social development from preschool to start of adolescence. Sample topics include: family influence, peer groups, social skills, play, moral reasoning, cooperation, competition, aggression, bullying, etc.
Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2005
An up-to-date overview of adolescent development, each chapter includes Each contribution provides a review of theory and research in a particular subfield of adolescence. Each chapter also includes some analysis of gender and sex differences, moderating influences due to socio-economic status, cultural or ethnic issues, and genetic factors.
Handbook of Adolescent Psychology
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Sample topics covered by this resource include: brain development, social cognitive development, adolescents and the media, positive youth development, and cross-cultural issues; among others.
Blackwell Handbook of Organizational Learning and Knowledge Management
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
2005 print edition available at Keffer Library. This is the state-of-the-art, international handbook for a field of inquiry that is still emergent and yet occupies a central position in contemporary management and organization theory. Mark Easterby-Smith and Marjorie Lyles have drawn together in their authoritative reference work original essays from the leading scholars in organizational learning and knowledge management around the world.
Learning and Memory
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2008
This resource includes scientific articles on the present state of research in the neurobiology and psychology of learning and memory.
Blackwell Handbook of Research Methods in Developmental Science
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2004
This book brings together a team of leading developmental scientists to provide a state-of-the-art overview of methods and approaches associated with the study of human development. Topics discussed include: traditional and complex designs in developmental research and the strengths and challenges inherent in each; the use of experimentation and quasi-experimentation in studies of development; developmental measurement issues; conceptualizations of change and approaches to assess it; intervention approaches to promote development in high-risk samples; and cutting-edge research that is forging new and exciting directions in developmental research.

Contact me for assistance

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology