Graduate English Library Guide: Reference Resources

Oxford Handbooks features review essays, written by leading experts, that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. UST currently subscribes to 7 subject collections.

Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

This resource provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on approximately 100,000 U.S. and international authors.

American National Biography provides biographical information relating to significant men and women from all periods of United States history. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.

Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.