Media Planning & Media Research: Other Media

Assesses leading approaches for marketing to consumers from media advertising to social media marketing, from direct mail to email, and from customer service to experiential marketing. Includes data on advertising spending, digital marketing, and much more.

Providing insight into the 220 million U.S. adult Internet users, this handbook assesses online activities and content, e-commerce spending, mobile access to the web, digital advertising, and more.

Find website traffic, statistics, and analytics. Some information is free, some requires a subscription.

Learn about the Google AdSense program.

Search a word to see a chart showing popularity of the word as a Google search term.

Trade association for many types of digital media, including online, wireless, social media, interactive TV, and gaming. The IAB site has educational materials on interactive marketing including case studies, research summaries, industry statistics, and industry guidelines.

The MMA site offers numerous free resources, including best practices, case studies, an industry directory, and educational materials.

DCN represents media companies, news, information, and entertainment web publishers such as WebMD, PBS, or the New York Times. It has news related to online advertising and relevant research reports, such as studies on smartphone and tablet users, online ad effectiveness, marketer preferences, and more.

Provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world - reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.

This "computational knowledge engine" can be used to find some basic site traffic measures. Enter a domain to get average daily page views, average daily visitors, and site rank.

Assesses leading approaches for marketing to consumers from media advertising to social media marketing, from direct mail to email, and from customer service to experiential marketing. Includes data on advertising spending, digital marketing, and much more.

The Resource Center has statistics on out-of-home advertising, creative examples, and info on public service OAAA advertising. The Out-of-Home Advertising section offers profiles of OOH media formats that describe how they are used and purchased, as well as a glossary, and comparisons to other media types. The Creative section, includes a gallery of Obie awards and a large image library that can be searched by product category, brand, advertiser, or agency. Site also offers a Code of Industry Principles. Many other resources available only to members.

Duke University provides a searchable library with "more than 30,000 images of outdoor advertisements." Can be searched by company, product, and more.

A large provider of Out-of-Home advertising.

A large provider of Out-of-Home advertising.

An independent auditor of audience metrics for out-of-home media. No free metrics on the site, but the site is useful for learning about the metrics.

Includes postings of product placement opportunities.