Research and Course Guides: Family Studies: Finding Books

Search for Books and eBooks

LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-01-31
Named a Best Reference Work for 2009 by Library Journal brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. It provides: "This is an example of a reference book turned into an e-product intelligently and in a way that transcends the print." - Library Journal

Sage Research Methods for Family Studies

Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
This database is the perfect companion for novice researchers. It provides bite-size, introductory overviews to all the major methods topics written by a renowned roster of methods experts, to help get you on your way. These accessible entries can help you get to the heart of the concept before you dig deeper into books or journal articles.

Oxford Handbooks Online

The Oxford Handbook of Evolutionary Family Psychology by Catherine Salmon (Editor); Todd K. Shackelford (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-05-27
Recognizing that a deeper understanding of human families can be found through an understanding of similar phenomena in other species, the volume demonstrates how an understanding of family ties can inform understanding of our relationships to non-kin.
The Oxford Handbook of Work and Family by Tammy D. Allen (Editor); Lillian T. Eby (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
Providing rich descriptive accounts of how major organizations have been able to turn research findings into effective evidence-based policies and practices to help adults better manage bothwork and family responsibilities.
The Oxford Handbook of Coercive Relationship Dynamics by Thomas J. Dishion (Editor); James J. Snyder (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-03-09
Coercive interactions and conflict are commonplace Coercion and conflict can be used to grow stronger relationships, or they can lead to the deterioration of relationships, undermine efforts tosocialize and teach youth, and lead to the development of mental health problems in children and parents. Coercion theory helps shed light on how these daily interaction dynamics explain the development of aggression, marital conflict, depression, and severe mental health problems in families and how they undermine school safety and effectiveness

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Editors ask the most knowledgeable researchers to write cumulative articles on the most important topics researched in their fields. If you find an article on your topic here, you've hit a gold mine.

Impact of New Family Forms on Parenting and Child Development
This article examines parenting and child development in new family forms, i.e., family forms that did not exist or were not visible until the latter part of the twentieth century.
How Postindustrial Families Talk
Focusing on postindustrial middle-class families, this review analyzes key discursive practices that promote “the entrepreneurial child” who can display creative language and problem-solving skills requisite to enter the globalized knowledge class as adults.
Family Instability in the Lives of American Children
. We review some of the structural and cultural factors that have contributed to rising levels of family instability and highlight the emergence of national data to measure it. We then review the perspective that guides much of the scholarship on family instability and critically assess the contributions of this work to the understanding of child well-being.
Families in Southeast and South Asia
We review literature on trends in fertility, marriage, divorce, and living arrangements in the past half century. The explanations for these trends focus on structural and ideological changes related to socioeconomic development; cultural factors including kinship system, religion, and ethnicity; and public policies.

Electronic Statistical Resources for Family Studies

Older Americans: a changing market by New Strategist Publications

These resources are available electronically through the CLICnet catalog. These links will take you to CLICnet where you will find the St. Thomas link for the full-text online resource.

The first four resources are all published by The New Strategist editors. Like other resource by this publisher, this book provides statistical charts and tables on a particular age group. Topics covered include Education, Health, and Living Arrangements. it also includes a section which provides Web sites and phone numbers for contacts, agencies and government organizations which can be contacted for further information. A glossary, a bibliography of other resources, and a subject index are included.

The last resource covers information on children in Minnesota.

Generation X :Americans born 1965 to 1976 by by the New Strategist editors.
The millennials :Americans born 1977 to 1994 by by the New Strategist editors.
The baby boom: Americans born 1946 to 1964 by by Cheryl Russell.
Kids Count by Annie E. Casey Foundation
This resources, published annually, provides demographic information on children in Minnesota. Most of the information is available by county, but some more general statistics are identified. This is an excellent source for basic statistics on children in Minnesota.
American generations: who they are and how they live by by the editors of New Strategist Publications
ISBN: 1940308038
Publication Date: 2013
Available online.
The American marketplace: deomographics and spending patterns by by the editors of New Strategist Publications.
ISBN: 1940308356
Publication Date: 2014