Research and Course Guides: Criminal Justice: Statistical Resources

Criminal Justice Statistical Sources in Electronic/Web format

These resources are available either electronically by UST Libraries, or as a free Web site.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Crime in the United States
Also known as the Uniform Crime Reports. This is an annual publication.
Crime in the United States--LLMC Digital Law Library
This link provides access, through the UST Libraries, to historical editions of this resource.
CrimeStat III
Minnesota Uniform Crime Reports
This is also available in print (see the Print box on this page).
Minnesota Criminal Justice Statistics Center
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
This Web site provides access to many different resources which include data on Crime and Justice. One resource is the National Crime Victimization Survey.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
This resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information.
It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and includes links to
original source data to help locate related data. Earlier editions are also available.
Covers 1970-present.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) to create thematic maps, datasets, and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables for the U.S. Use it when you need demographic and marketing data for a specific geographic area in the U.S. such as a city, county, census tract, or ZIP code. Create a free personal account with your UST email to save your work (check your email spam if you don't receive an activation email) or sign in as a guest. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

This resource is available in the UST Libraries collections.

Crime state rankings
Call Number: OSF Reference HV6787 .C75
Most current edition is in OSF Reference collection. Older editions are in the OSF Stacks.

Check out the following guides which have information on statistical sources which may be useful for criminal justice research.

Data & Statistics
Sociology: Stats
Various books, databases, and software to gather statistics and demographics.

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 153

651-962-5007

Subjects: Citing Sources, Criminal Justice, Family Studies, Neuroscience, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology