Special Education: Reference Sources

This is a core title for special education topics; it includes information on school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula, as well as biographies of important figures in special education, among other topics. (new 4th edition, 2014)

This book is an excellent reference source for anyone (researchers, scholars, graduate students, practitioners, policy makers, and parents) interested in the state of special education today: its research base, current issues and practices, and future trends.

This book summarizes the research literature regarding how students can be provided schools and classrooms that are both inclusive and effective.

This comprehensive handbook reviews the major theoretical, methodological, and instructional methodologies in the field of learning disabilities. It is considered a standard reference in the field. Limit of 3 simultaneous users. A print copy is also available in Keffer Reference.

This book analyzes the strengths and weaknesses of commonly used assessment methods including aptitude-achievement discrepancy, cognitive processing, RTI, and low achievement approaches among others.

Including reproducible forms, sample scripts, and other clinical tools, this book shows how to select, administer, and interpret evidence-based intelligence tests for a variety of purposes. It provides quick-reference guidelines for comprehensively assessing an individual K-12 student and sharing the results through effective written reports and in-person meetings. Especially useful in assessing learning disabilities.

Concise jargon-free definitions of more than 3,500 disorders, theories, medications, interventions, diagnoses, assessments, etc.

The contributors to this volume describe state-of-the-art intervention and prevention programs designed to build students' skills for managing emotions, showing concern for others, making responsible decisions, and forming positive relationships.

The chapters in this book provide information on evidence-based practices for screening, progress monitoring, intervention, and instruction for students identified with emotional and behavioral disorders. Limit of 3 simultaneous users.

This resource provides a comprehensive overview of the problems students with emotional and behavioral difficulties present to themselves, their schools, families, and society in general.

Oppositional defiant disorder and conduct disorder are common mental health problems for youth. This book provides information on evidence based assessment strategies, and therapeutic practices.

A broad encyclopedia on education psychology, this includes a number of articles on topics related to special education.

While this is a psychiatry textbook, it has information that may be helpful for teachers doing research on intellectual disabilities, autism, learning disabilities, and ADHD, among others.

This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive and current guide to the subjects of autism spectrum disorders (ASD) and pervasive developmental disorders (PDDs). The intended audience includes researchers, practitioners and professionals in the field.

One of the largest and most complex human services systems in history has evolved to address the needs of people with autism and intellectual disabilities, yet important questions remain for many professionals, administrators, and parents. What approaches to early intervention, education, treatment, therapy, and remediation really help those with autism and other intellectual disabilities improve their functioning and adaptation? Alternatively, what approaches represent wastes of time, effort, and resources? Controversial Therapies for Autism and Intellectual Disabilities brings together leading behavioral scientists and practitioners to shed much-needed light on the major controversies surrounding these questions.

The new, updated Fourth Edition takes into account the changes in the disorders' definitions in the DSM-V and ICD-10 that may have profound implications for diagnosis and, by extension, access to services. Along with providing practical clinical advice--including the role of psychopharmacology in treatment--the handbook codifies the ever-expanding current body of research throughout both volumes , offering a wealth of information on the epidemiology of autism and the genetic, environmental, biochemical, social, and neuropathological aspects of the disorder.

Includes chapters on the history of autism, autism and the relationship to anxiety, assessment and treatment, and future directions.

Background chapters in this book survey the history of professional understanding of autism. Chapters on best methods in screening, assessment, and diagnosis reflect the transition between the DSM-V and older diagnostic criteria. And the intervention section features evidence-based strategies for developing core skills to ethical concerns, cultural considerations, and controversial treatments.

E-book, username and password required for access.
This book helps clinicians harness the benefits of cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) for children and adolescents with high-functioning autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Leading treatment developers describe promising approaches for treating common challenges faced by young people with ASD--anxiety and behavior problems, social competence issues, and adolescent concerns around sexuality and intimacy.

Summarizes current research on topics related to developmental disabilities, including these themes among others: early intervention, school age education, family issues. etc.

Has five major theme areas: overview of intellectual and developmental disabilities, etiology and conditions, support and intervention, developmental disabilities through the lifespan, and health issues

Intended for use by graduate students, clinical practitioners, and educators, this book focuses on findings from research on each topic.

This resource provides many perspectives on reading disabilities: psychometrics, linguistics, anthropology, and well as psychology and education. A few of the questions addressed include: What is the nature and cause of reading disabilities?, How are reading disabilities assessed?, How should reading disabilities be remediated?, among others.

This handbook remains an essential resource for those helping dyslexic individuals of all ages, from preschoolers to adults in the workplace. It combines theoretical explanations, the latest research, and practical solutions with a focus on inclusion and meeting the individual's needs.

Includes sections on neurological and genetic topics, cognitive and learning topics, educational topics, different languages and dyslexia, and adults with dyslexia.

Attempting to balance the scale between theory, research, and practice, this guide focuses on what has been learned from the research. International in scope.

Contents include: History of special education -- Special education and society -- Law and special education -- Specific disabilities -- Teaching methods and interventions -- Policies and practices -- Families and disability -- Research in special education.

Includes information about associations, publications in many formats, products, services, and websites.

Published by the Council for Exceptional Children, this provides standards for training and certification for special educators.

As the title suggests, this is a guide to medications given to children and young adults for emotional and behavioral disorders. The information is arranged by generic and brand name, written in layman terminology, and is in the form of a handout for easy distribution.

Contains explanations of 301 diagnostic tests (up from 109 in previous edition) commonly used by teachers and other professionals involved in assessment of children with special needs.