Research and Course Guides: Special Education: Finding Books

Key Words

Children's Literature Guides

Remarkable Books about Young People with Special Needs
Call Number: Keffer Curr Z1039.D5 F65 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Matching children with special needs to books and stories that will motivate and engage them, this book is a valuable collection for any parent, grandparent, caregiver, or teacher who lives or works with young people who have disabilities.
Teaching About Disabilities Through Children's Literature
Call Number: Keffer Curriculum PN1009.5.C44 P73 2008
This book will provide teachers and other professionals who work with children a comprehensive guide to selecting and using children's books to teach about disabilities. It includes reproducible lesson plans and extensive annotated bibliographies.

Introduction

Use LibrarySearch to search for books. There is a "quick" search box below to get you started. If you are looking for a specific book (or other known item), type the title in the box, ignoring initial articles. For a specific author, type the last name first. If St. Thomas doesn't own an item, but another CLIC library does, click on the "request item" check mark to request it. If you are unable to find an item in LibrarySearch, you might search the WorldCat database, and request items from it on interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

LibrarySearch Catalog

LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice.

Worldcat Search - Simple

Use WorldCat to search for books nation-wide, and use the ILLIAD interlibrary loan system to get them sent here.

E-Books

Here is a sample of e-books that may be helpful for special education teachers. In some cases, you may need to set up an account with the vendor to view them off campus. In that case, it will be a different username & password than your UST account.

A Survival Guide for New Special Educators
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Includes relevant and practical information such as preparing for the first day of school, time management, paperwork and IEPs, managing behavior, conducting assessment, meetings with parents, among other topics.
International Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
This book includes on autism topics including perception, cognition, social skills, challenging behaviors, and theory of mind, among others.
Developing and Evaluating Educational Programs for Students with Autism
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
This book offers systematic, evidence-based guidelines—as well as tools, checklists, and other resources—for creating effective learning environments for students across the autism spectrum and the grade span.
Handbook of Early Intervention for Autism Spectrum Disorders
Call Number: E-book, username ane password required
Background chapters survey the history of professional understanding of the disorders and the ongoing debate over autism as a single entity or a continuum. Chapters on best methods in screening, assessment, and diagnosis reflect the transition between the DSM-V and older diagnostic criteria. And at the heart of the book, the intervention section ranges from evidence-based strategies for developing core skills to ethical concerns, cultural considerations, and controversial treatments.
The ADD & ADHD Answer Book
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
A parent's guide for helping their child with attention deficit disorder.
Nonverbal Learning Disabilities in Children
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
The book is meant as an overview of nonverbal learning disabilities for school-based practitioners such as school psychologists, school counselors, special education teachers, as well as community-based mental health professionals. In its brief text, it provides a historical background, status of the disorder, and known treatments.
Helping Children with Autism Learn: Treatment Approaches for Parents and Professionals
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Provides background on autism as well as teaching methods for working with autistic children.
Educating Children with Fragile X Syndrome; A Multi-Professional View
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
The chapters in this book are divided into five themes: 1) The child with Fragile X; 2) education issues; 3) educational strategies; 4) development, behavior, and psychology; 5) family and social matters.
Teaching Children with Learning Disabilities: A Step-by-Step Guide for Educators
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Chapters include: Overview of learning disabilities -- Characteristics of children with learning disabilities -- Types of learning disabilities -- Eligibility criteria for learning disabilities -- Response to intervention (RTI) -- Effective teaching strategies for students with LD, among others.
Freaks, Geeks, and Asperger Syndrome: A User Guide to Adolescence
Call Number: E-book,username and password requiresd
The author, Luke Jackson, is 13 years old and has Asperger Syndrome. Drawing from his own experiences and gaining information from his teenage brother and sisters, he wrote this enlightening, honest and witty book in an attempt to address difficult topics such as bullying, friendships, when and how to tell others about AS, school problems, dating, relationships and morality.