Research and Course Guides: English as a Second Language: A Research Guide for Teachers: Core Resources

Looking for ESL Classes?

NOTE: If you have found this page from Google, or other search engine, and are looking for classes from the ELS Center at St. Thomas, please call 651-962-5990, or visit the website below. (Please don't call or email me--I am not connected to this program and cannot assist people with it.)

ELS Language Center

ESL is Worldwide!

A Place to Start

If you have no idea where to start on your research, try these reference books, or online databases.

Reference books (more information on the 'reference sources' tab):

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education (Keffer)
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education (Keffer)
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts (Keffer)

Essential databases:

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
A signficant number of ESL journals are indexed here.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Communication & Mass Media Complete.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Education Full Text.

Contact me for assistance

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology