Skip to main content

HIST 116 African-American History: Find Primary Sources

A guide to library resources on African American history

Find Primary Sources in Books

Search CLICsearch to find primary sources in books and ebooks.   When searching, you will want to use specific subject headings in your searches to single out the primary source materials.  These subject headings are specialized "tag" added to the records to books by catalog librarians to provide accurate descriptions of books.  Using the following keywords your search will help you find the source material you seek:

correspondence

personal narratives
literary collections pictorial works
memoirs diary or diaries
sources documents
songs and music journals
speeches writings

 

Selected Primary Source Materials on the Web

The Crisis magazine (1910 - 1922)
Digitized copies of The Crisis, an African-American magazine founded by W. E. B. DuBois.

The Crisis magazine (1922 - 1923)
Digitized copies of The Crisis, an African-American magazine founded by W. E. B. DuBois.

The Crisis magazine (1911 - 2011)
The Crisis, founded by W.E.B. Du Bois as the official publication of the NAACP, is a journal of civil rights, history, politics, and culture and seeks to educate and challenge its readers about issues that continue to plague African Americans and other communities of color.

Documenting the American South
A project of the University of North Carolina, this collection provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.

Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomberg Center at the New York Public Library provides access to a variety of source materials realting to African-Americans

Jim Crow Museum
Located at Ferris State University, the Jim Crow Museum collects objects and collections related to racial segregation, civil rights and anti-Black caricatures

Duluth Lynchings
The Minnesota Historical Society provides access to a digital collection of materials related to the Duluth (MN) lynchings.

Separate is Not Equal
The National Museum of American History of the Smithsonian Institution features primary source materials from its collections relating to the Brown vs. Board of Education decision.

Find Images, Artifacts, and Recordings

Find Primary Sources in an Electronic Format