Research and Course Guides: Finance Resources: Getting Started

Welcome!

Welcome Finance Researchers!

On this page, we hope you will find valuable resources for finance research - including company and industry overviews, ratios, financial statements, analyst reports, industry news and business articles.

Please let us know if you have any questions or comments. Librarians are also available for consultations for any particular research needs you may have.

About OSF & Keffer Libraries

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Library Hours

Charles J. Keffer Library
651-962-4642 (Circulation)
651-962-4664 (Reference)
651-962-4640 (Hours)
MOH 206, 1000 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Directions & Parking
Library Hours

Why Use this Guide?

This guide is designed as a starting point for doing finance research in the United States. Use the tabs to navigate through the guide.

Company profiles & ratios - search for company overviews, financial info and balance sheets, and ratios
SEC Filings & Investment Reports - learn about searching for regulatory filings and analyst reports
Industry Reports & Ratios - look for industry trends, forecasts, ratio benchmarks, and statistics
News & Articles - search for articles and business and industry news
Historical Stock & Holdings Data - search for historical data on a stock's performance
Indices - find information on various market indicators and indices
Mergers & Acquisitions Information - find SEC forms and filing rules, reports, and listings of recent M&As
Citing Sources - here's information on how to cite your sources
Related guides - lists other guides that can help you with your research

Accounting & Finance Encyclopedias

A Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform
Includes an examination of the collapse of the Enron Corporation and other financial scandals that arose in the wake of the market downturn of 2000, examines the SEC's full disclosure system in corporate governance and the role of accountants in that system, chronicles numerous scandals, and covers the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.
A Financial History of the United States (2002; print)
Vol. I: From Christopher Columbus to the Robber Barons (1492-1900)
Vol. II: From J.P. Morgan to the Institutional Investor (1900-1970)
Vol. III: From the Age of Derivatives into the New Millennium (1970-2001)
Dictionary of Accounting (Oxford Reference)
Provides straightforward definitions of the latest financial jargon along with comprehensive coverage of financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, direct and indirect taxation, corporate finance, and auditing.
Dictionary of Finance and Banking (Oxford Reference)
Covers the vocabulary used in banking, money markets, foreign exchanges, public and government finance, and private investment and borrowing, and much more. The coverage in all areas is wide and international.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Topics include accounting, economics, finance, information systems, management, marketing, and more.
Handbook of International Financial Terms (Oxford Reference)
This Handbook is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference book on the world of finance. Here you can find out the meanings of what can seem a bewildering array of financial terms, such as a Circus, a Firewall, an Amazon Bond, a Clean Float, a Cocktail Swap, a Butterfly, a Streaker, a Straddle, and a Strangle. There are numerous examples to show how particular calculations and instruments are used; details are also given of acronyms, currencies, and major markets.
Oxford Handbook of Banking
Provides an overview and analysis of state-of-the-art research in banking written by leading researchers in the field.
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Economics
A reference work on philosophical issues in the practice of economics. It is motivated by the view that there is more to economics than general equilibrium theory, and that the philosophy of economics should reflect the diversity of activities and topics that currently occupy economists.
QFinance: The Ultimate Resource (print)
Includes best practice and thought leadership articles, as well as practical guides and solutions to daily financial challenges, up-to-date country and industry data, summaries of the most popular finance titles, and, biographies of important people in the world of finance.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management (3rd Ed.)
A comprehensive 13 vol. business encyclopedia covering: Accounting, Business Ethics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Management, International Management, Management Information Systems, Managerial Economics, Marketing, Operations Management, Organizational Behavior, Strategic Management, Technology and Innovation Management, plus an index. Articles arranged alphabetically within subject volumes; they contain good background information on the listed topic plus a bibliography for further reading

Academic Services Librarian

Jim Kelly

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 115

651-962-5012

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Analytics, Computer & Information Sciences, Data & Statistics, Economics, Engineering, Finance, Operations & Supply Chain Mgmt

Business Librarians

Marianne Hageman
mdhageman@stthomas.edu
651-962-5404

Jim Kelly
kell5174@stthomas.edu
651-962-5012

Andrea Koeppe
andrea.koeppe@stthomas.edu
651-962-4647