Research and Course Guides: Finance Resources: Company Profiles & Financials

Use Mergent for Company Profiles, Financials, and More

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is our “go-to” database for in-depth information on publicly traded companies. This resource is useful for financial statement analysis projects: it includes all financial statements, SEC filings, ratios, industry benchmarks, etc., as well as investment analyst reports via the Investext module.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect is useful for locating information about private companies. Intellect also covers public companies and includes a broad range of industry reports. Note: public company records in Intellect are not as detailed as those available in Mergent Online.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Mergent Archives is an indexed collection of company and industry data spanning over 150 years. Major sources include: Moody’s Corporate Manual, Moody’s Municipal Manual, Company Annual Reports, D&B’s Key Business Ratios, D&B’s Million Dollar Directory, Hoover’s Handbooks, and the Commodity Research Bureau (CRB) annual Commodity Yearbooks. Although this is an archive, some of the data is quite recent, so this may also be a source for current topics.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.

Additional Company Reports

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Click the Company Profiles link at top, then search for your company to find the Marketline report.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers provides company information from about 18 million global companies, detailed industry reports, analyst reports, SEC filings, and market research. Limited to 50 simultaneous users. Tip: try clearing your browser cache, cookies, and history if you encounter errors.
Morningstar This link opens in a new window
This resource offers real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of publicly traded companies. Company profiles include: stock performance, quarterly and annual financials, ratios, company valuation (current, forward, and historical), shareholder demographics, SEC filings, and detailed coverage of bonds issued by the company. Researchers will also find information covering mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for company and industry research, including financial and ratio analysis. Contains the former Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (now produced by CFRA Equity Research). Also includes mutual fund/ETF and bond information, investment research reports, stock screening and charting tools.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista contains frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. Indicator stats are usually displayed as a chart and the underlying data is downloadable in Excel; charts can be downloaded in multiple formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations. Search results also display dossiers (topical collections of statistics), infographics, country/industry/company reports, market reports, and a global consumer survey. Results also available in French, German, and Spanish.
eCommerceDB This link opens in a new window
eCommerceDB provides data on online marketing and sales channels across the global economy; includes data for individual online stores, market segments by country, brand and trend reports, etc. for thousands stores in 50 countries. Affiliated with Statista, some reports will open on that platform (ignore notations about cost and just click, it should recognize our subscription and get you to the content). Once you pass the St. Thomas login, you will need to click "University Login" in the upper right corner.
If you do get to a page that will not open the content without payment, copy the page URL and send explanation with content title to our Ask a Librarian services.

Mergent Company Ratios Procedure

Mergent Online is the preferred UST resource for finding company ratios. Below is the procedure for pulling them from the database.

Search for a public company within the industry. (Use the "use code lookup" to the right of the screen if you like to drill down to an industry. There is no keyword search for industry in Mergent.)
Open the profile for this company (e.g., 2111 for Altria)
Select the Financials tab.
Select Ratios.
View and download the available information.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online is our “go-to” database for in-depth information on publicly traded companies. This resource is useful for financial statement analysis projects: it includes all financial statements, SEC filings, ratios, industry benchmarks, etc., as well as investment analyst reports via the Investext module.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.

Private Company Research

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PrivCo database is UST Library’s premier source for finding information on privately-held companies. Company profiles include an overview of the firm, its leadership team/owners, and company financials. The profiles also contain, when available, detailed information on VC and private equity funding, private M&A deals, patent and copyright litigation, and IPO activities. Register for a free personal account or use the Direct Access button.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect is useful for locating information about private companies. Intellect also covers public companies and includes a broad range of industry reports. Note: public company records in Intellect are not as detailed as those available in Mergent Online.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
Reference Solutions from Data Axle (Formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information for millions of U.S. businesses nationwide. Search by company name, size, revenue or business costs (often these figures are estimated), location, industry, or many other characteristics. Choose US Businesses or US Standard White Pages, then Advanced Search. Exporting of data is limited to 100 items on-campus or 50 off-campus.

Conference Call Transcripts

Conference calls are substantive conversations between company's upper management and investment banking analysts covering topics including:

Earnings announcements
Significant events (e.g. auditor changes, restatement of financials, change in management)
Changes in strategic or operational direction.

These are recorded and transcribed, and made available from various sources, including company web sites. Companies don't always keep a backfile of these on their websites, so these sources can be a good alternative.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A publication called CQ FD Disclosure provides conference call transcripts. To find it in Factiva, go to the search screen and use this search strategy: in the free text search box, type: rst=fndw and fds=company. Factiva uses proprietary company codes, so type the company name slowly and select it from the autocomplete. Note, the default is to only search the last 3 months, so if you want transcripts older than that, change the date option.
If you use Factiva's Share>Within My Account feature to find links for emailing or to use in Canvas, that URL needs to be adjusted with a special code to connect it with our subscription. Copy that URL and paste it into our ProxyMe! widget to create the adjusted URL.

Fair Disclosure Wire
This source provides conference call transcripts. Browse by date or search within publication for the company name.

Company Location Research

Uniworld Online This link opens in a new window
The following databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States have been combined into one dynamic resource called Uniworld Online. Uniworld Online is a searchable database that covers multinational companies with headquarters in over 200 countries and 20,000 industries. Uniworld Online offers more than 665,000 records consisting of global parent companies with their domestic and foreign subsidiaries.