Engineering Resources: Finding Articles

The Association of Computing Machinery is the premier society in computing and the ACM Digital Library provides abstracts and full text articles published in all ACM journals, transactions and conference proceedings since its founding in 1947. Topics cover all aspects of computing, including cloud computing, mobile technologies and security issues.

Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.

Emerald contains peer-reviewed articles from 175 management journals, and it is especially strong in management topics such as human resource management, operations management, and library and information management.Emerald also contains articles that focus on marketing,finance, information technology, and international company and industry information.

MedLine, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in PDF form that researchers can download. All St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database are available in PDF also. If you should come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may purchase a copy or request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

ScienceDirect offers access to the publications of Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries - nearly 2,500 journals and 30,000 books. The collection contains selected full text of journal articles (since 1995) and book chapters. The collection focuses on science, technology and medicine, it also contains many journal titles from other social science disciplines.

Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. Coverage includes scholarly journals, conference papers and proceedings, books, dissertations and theses, government publications, magazines, newspapers and other sources.

Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.

Featuring content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), IEL contains almost one-third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science. Use IEL to find 174 IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions, 26 IET journals and magazines, 20+ IET conference title proceedings from over 1,400 IEEE and IET annual conferences and more than 2,800 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields.

Scholarly and trade publications on science, engineering & technology.

Easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.