Research and Course Guides: +Psychology (Graduate): Background Info

Handbooks: Getting Summarized Back Ground Info

Handbooks contain entries that summarize and define complex research and also highlight important scholars. Use handbooks to get background information, define theories and find foundational articles. These databases allow you to search multiple handbooks at once:

Routledge Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the world’s leading scholars to provide a "cutting-edge" overview of classic and current research from Routledge, and CRC Press, in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering, and built environment. The database is fully searchable and browsable.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks features review essays, written by leading experts, that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. UST currently subscribes to 7 subject collections.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia defines and analyzes the major topics in the field of social work. Use the search button in the upper right hand corner to find an encyclopedia article that is relevant to your research

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook Of Psychopharmacology
Updated to reflect that DSM-5, this title has a user-friendly model that offers in-depth coverage of the latest research in pharmacological principles, classes of drugs, and psychiatric disorders.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy
A quick, one-stop source that gives the reader the 'who, what, where, how, and why' of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory
The Oxford Handbook of Emotion Dysregulation
Emotion dysregulation - which is often defined as the inability to modulate strong affective states including impulsivity, anger, fear, sadness, and anxiety - is observed in nearly all psychiatric disorders. This title brings together experts whose work cuts across levels of analysis, including neurobiological, cognitive, and social, in studying emotion dysregulation.
Handbook of Research Methods in Health Social Sciences
Profiles traditional and emergent research methods in health social sciences and highlights best practice in health social science research

Annual Reviews in Clinical Psychology

The Annual Review of Clinical Psychology is a peer reviewed academic journal that publishes review articles. These articles will summarize all of the research done on a topic up to the publication date. Use these review articles to familiarize yourself with the topic and provide a solid foundation as you begin your research. New review articles are displayed below - visit the journal website to search for a review article similar to your topic.