Research and Course Guides: PSYC 212: Research Methods in Psychology: Finding Articles

Translating Your Question into Database Language

Subject: Database's vocabulary (different for each database)

Keyword: Your vocabulary

LImiters: Special to each database ("Age Group" below)

Databases use a grammar of AND, OR, AND NOT -- a language of mathematics. No prepositions, verbs, determiners, affixes -- anything you learned in English or human language classes.

Finding Citations in PsycINFO

Use drop down menus for author or journal. Use Date to limit to the last few years or a particular year.

Psychology Databases

These databases are the ones you should use to start your search for research articles.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
THE database for research in medicine. Find research on neuroscience, brain science, and psychiatric research on psychiatric/mental disorders and mental health. Because of recent controversies regarding indexing of predatory journals, you might want to check the reputation of journals.
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM) This link opens in a new window
The entire DSM is online for our students, faculty, and staff. Including all editions, supplements, and revisions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, from the DSM to the DSM-5-TR. Includes comparisons to the ICD. Cool textbooks including the Casebook and the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis Also includes Practice Guidelines, 6 journals, and fun assessment tools for self-study.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A very broad database, including all disciplines. Use to find seminal artilces and leading researchers on your topic.
Scopus vendor guide is here: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.

Sage Research Foundations

Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
In-depth description, explanations, and examples of different research methods.

Search Journal Titles

Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).

Other Databases

These databases also include resources covering Psychology topics.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index (mostly focused on Chrisitianity. We have other databases if you are interested in other religions and spiritualities.) Good for information about spritual development or spirituality in psychotherapy or mental illness and health.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.

PSYC 212: Research Methods in Psychology: Finding Articles