Skip to main content

Psych 212: Research Methods in Psychology: Background Information

Guidance for finding research and research methods in psychology

Search for Books and eBooks

CLICsearch is the library catalog of eight private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the UST library of your choice. My account

Annual Reviews

Every year, top researchers are invited to write literature reviews of critical issues to the designated field.
Read "Full Text HTML" online (includes links to sections of the paper on the right) and by "Download PDF" offline.

Guide to all the cool things from Annual Reviews

Handbook and Encyclopedia Databases

Find background information on psychology from hundreds of encyclopedias and handbooks. Search within the databaseIf you find a great encyclopedia or handbook, you can browse through it as well. Leaders in their fields write these articles.

Psychology Reference Resources

These resources provide basic and background information for psychology research

 
Encyclopedia of Psychology

Jointly published by the American Psychological Association and Oxford University Press. Articles are written by authorities in the field and include extensive bibliographies. Search in PsycBOOKS for the entire set and/or specific articles.
     Volume 1 : A-B  
     Volume 2 : C-Determinants
     Volume 3 : Developmental-Goodenough
     Volume 4 : Government-Learned
     Volume 5 : Learning-Oppositional
     Volume 6 : Optimism-Rapaport
     Volume 7 : Rape-S
     Volume 8 : T-Z

Other Resources for Psychology

These are other encyclopedias and handbooks which provide an overview of information for specific topics within the field of Psychology.

InterLibrary Loan Login

UST Username


Video tutorial

APA Handbooks