Skip to main content

HIST 463 Global Cold War: Find Primary Sources

A resource guide for Dr. Nagy's HIST 463 Global Cold War seminar

Consult Bibliographies

Reference sources may contain citations to repositories of papers or other primary material. The American National Biography and the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography are good examples of such sources.

Bibliographies in scholarly books often arrange sources consulted by type. The language may vary but the arrangement is clear - primary and secondary, published and unpublished, manuscripts, letters, papers, archives, etc.

Footnotes in books and journal articles may refer to contemporary publications or other primary materials.

Find Primary Sources in Books

Search the library catalogs like CLICsearch to find primary sources in books and other works.   When searching the catalog, you will want to use specific subject headings in your searches to single out the primary source materials.  These subject headings are specialized "tag" added to the records to books by catalog librarians to provide accurate descriptions of books.  Using the following words in your search will help you find the source material you seek:

 

correspondence personal narratives
literary collections  pictorial works 
diary or diaries songs and music
sources documents

Digitized Books and Goverment Documents

Primary Source Newspaper and Periodical Articles

The following full-text newspapers and periodicals may provide you with source documents:

Primary Source Databases - Coming Soon

Digital National Security Archive
and
History Vault - International Relations & American Politics and Society

A collection of declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations.

Primary Source Collections on the Web

The following sites serve provide access to a variety of digitized primary sources: