Accounting Resources: Company Research

Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.

D&B Hoovers provides company information from about 18 million global companies, detailed industry reports, analyst reports, SEC filings, and market research. Limited to 50 simultaneous users. Tip: try clearing your browser cache, cookies, and history if you encounter errors.

Factiva is a great source for finding up-to-the-minute news articles from publications around the world including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Financial Times. It also contains many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Use the Companies and Markets option to access company profiles and industry data. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

This resource offers real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of publicly traded companies. Company profiles include: stock performance, quarterly and annual financials, ratios, company valuation (current, forward, and historical), shareholder demographics, SEC filings, and detailed coverage of bonds issued by the company. Researchers will also find information covering mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.

PrivCo database is UST Library’s premier source for finding information on privately-held companies. Company profiles include an overview of the firm, its leadership team/owners, and company financials. The profiles also contain, when available, detailed information on VC and private equity funding, private M&A deals, patent and copyright litigation, and IPO activities. Register for a free personal account or use the Direct Access button.

Contains information for millions of U.S. businesses nationwide. Search by company name, size, revenue or business costs (often these figures are estimated), location, industry, or many other characteristics. Choose US Businesses or US Standard White Pages, then Advanced Search. Exporting of data is limited to 100 items on-campus or 50 off-campus.

An excellent source for company and industry research, including financial and ratio analysis. Contains the former Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (now produced by CFRA Equity Research). Also includes mutual fund/ETF and bond information, investment research reports, stock screening and charting tools.

The following databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States have been combined into one dynamic resource called Uniworld Online. Uniworld Online is a searchable database that covers multinational companies with headquarters in over 200 countries and 20,000 industries. Uniworld Online offers more than 665,000 records consisting of global parent companies with their domestic and foreign subsidiaries.

Value Line Research Center provides quarterly-updated reports on over 3,500 stocks, 90 industries, and 2,000 mutual funds; news & analysis; options; convertibles; special situations; and exchange traded funds. Use the “Company name or symbol” search box in the upper right to find a company, or use the company or industry screens in the center of the page.

Mergent Intellect is useful for locating information about private companies. Intellect also covers public companies and includes a broad range of industry reports. Note: public company records in Intellect are not as detailed as those available in Mergent Online.

PrivCo database is UST Library’s premier source for finding information on privately-held companies. Company profiles include an overview of the firm, its leadership team/owners, and company financials. The profiles also contain, when available, detailed information on VC and private equity funding, private M&A deals, patent and copyright litigation, and IPO activities. Register for a free personal account or use the Direct Access button.

Information on millions of public and private companies from around the world.

Contains information for over 14 million U.S. businesses nationwide. Under Available databases, choose U.S. Businesses. Exporting of data is limited to 100 items on-campus or 50 off-campus.

Company information from about 18 million North American and international companies, SWOT analysis, analyst reports, SEC filings, and market research. Exporting of data is limited to 100 items on-campus or 50 off-campus.

Choose the Company/Markets tab, then choose Company. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Contains a directory of corporations, executives and directors for many private companies.