Research and Course Guides: Researching for Your Quals: Other Lit Reviews

Introduction

Articles chop up your topic into little, narrow questions. If you find 5 articles, each presenting a narrow study, it's often hard to see how they fit together and what question they are all trying to answer. But encyclopedias and handbooks

Give you overviews of your topic
Lead you to the important questions asked by researchers.
Contain articles written by experts in their fields.
Put your idea or question into a historical, research, or social context.
Lead you to further references.

Featured Encyclopedia

Elsevier Dictionary of Psychological Theories by J.E. Roeckelein
ISBN: 9780444517500
Describes psychological theories in all fields of psychology -- statistical, family therapy, personality, etc. The preface states that the book contains both good and "not so good" theories, expecting the descriptions to aid the reader in deciding which type of theory is encountered. Includes references to the original proposals and to later analyses and reviews.
APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology by Nadya A. Fouad; Jean A. Carter; Linda Mezydlo Subich
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
Articles on all aspects of counseling psychology, including The evolution on the theory of counseling psychology, Interventions and evidence in counseling psychology, and Psychotherapy process and outcome research in counseling psychology. Chapters listed for 2 volumes: Volume 1 and Volume 2

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook Of Psychopharmacology
Updated to reflect that DSM-5, this title has a user-friendly model that offers in-depth coverage of the latest research in pharmacological principles, classes of drugs, and psychiatric disorders.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy
A quick, one-stop source that gives the reader the 'who, what, where, how, and why' of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory
The Oxford Handbook of Emotion Dysregulation
Emotion dysregulation - which is often defined as the inability to modulate strong affective states including impulsivity, anger, fear, sadness, and anxiety - is observed in nearly all psychiatric disorders. This title brings together experts whose work cuts across levels of analysis, including neurobiological, cognitive, and social, in studying emotion dysregulation.
Handbook of Research Methods in Health Social Sciences
Profiles traditional and emergent research methods in health social sciences and highlights best practice in health social science research
Handbook of Research Methods in Clinical Psychology
Long articles on planning research, ethical issues, and publishing your results. Also, advice on performing research in specific research areas. references to previous research as well as theoretical discussions and comparison of methods.

Subject Guide

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology